Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
We make a Taco Salad like this but use Western Dressing instead of French and Nacho Cheese Doritos instead of tortilla chips - much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good recipe but it makes way too much. With 3 adults & 2 kids we only ate about half the recipe and it was not very good warmed up the next day. Would definitely make again but would cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Needed a ton more salsa than what was listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chenango Bridge, New York, USA
Living In: Endicott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The lettuce wilted as soon as the hot mixture touched it and made a real mess. Even my dear sainted wife could not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deno morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This recipe is WONDERFUL! The only change I would make is that we make it and use Western dressing...one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Didn't change a thing, loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Marine
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Did not like this recipe at all. Personally, I think there is no need for the French dressing... Just use taco seasoning to cooked lean meat and add the rest of the ingredients. Optional ingredients to taste would be sour cream & beans...but cheese, onions and taco chips are a MUST to the meat mixture and lettuce...JMVHO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made this salad for every picnic and funeral and family gathering since I got it from a friend in the 1980's with 2 exceptions. I use Western dressing and kidney beans. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have been using a similar recipe for years. Everyone who I've made it for loves it. A few additions: 1/2 cup diced red onion with the lettuce and 2 avocados cut up. Also, using a clove of fresh garlic when frying the burger is excellent! I don't use any sour cream or salsa as the French dressing does not go well with it, and I use dark red kidney beans instead of chili beans. Also, using Nacho Cheese Doritos is " The Bomb"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was one of the first recipes I learned to make in home economics class! I absolutely loved it then and still do today! I knew this wouldn't keep well, so I halved everything and had NO leftovers (between myself, my husband and my parents, the bowl was licked CLEAN!!!)! As many others have done, I also made a few changes. To add a little zip, I substituted nacho flavored Doritos for plain tortilla chips, added a few handfuls of chopped scallions and cut way back on the dressing. I prepared my meat per the directions on the back of my taco seasoning packet and added the dressing LAST. All I can say is WOW! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Denise. It brought back many fond memories for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States