Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The lettuce wilted as soon as the hot mixture touched it and made a real mess. Even my dear sainted wife could not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kostandenos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laytonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This recipe is WONDERFUL! The only change I would make is that we make it and use Western dressing...one of our family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Didn't change a thing, loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Marine
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Did not like this recipe at all. Personally, I think there is no need for the French dressing... Just use taco seasoning to cooked lean meat and add the rest of the ingredients. Optional ingredients to taste would be sour cream & beans...but cheese, onions and taco chips are a MUST to the meat mixture and lettuce...JMVHO...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made this salad for every picnic and funeral and family gathering since I got it from a friend in the 1980's with 2 exceptions. I use Western dressing and kidney beans. It is always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have been using a similar recipe for years. Everyone who I've made it for loves it. A few additions: 1/2 cup diced red onion with the lettuce and 2 avocados cut up. Also, using a clove of fresh garlic when frying the burger is excellent! I don't use any sour cream or salsa as the French dressing does not go well with it, and I use dark red kidney beans instead of chili beans. Also, using Nacho Cheese Doritos is " The Bomb"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodigirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was one of the first recipes I learned to make in home economics class! I absolutely loved it then and still do today! I knew this wouldn't keep well, so I halved everything and had NO leftovers (between myself, my husband and my parents, the bowl was licked CLEAN!!!)! As many others have done, I also made a few changes. To add a little zip, I substituted nacho flavored Doritos for plain tortilla chips, added a few handfuls of chopped scallions and cut way back on the dressing. I prepared my meat per the directions on the back of my taco seasoning packet and added the dressing LAST. All I can say is WOW! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, Denise. It brought back many fond memories for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very tasty! I did not use the dressing...didn't need it. However, I did cut up a lime and squeezed the fresh juice onto the salad. Wonderful! Easy! My husband said MAKE IT AGAIN! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Loved it... Used Chipotle Ranch Dressing instead! It Rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great recipe, I made it as directed but would recommend a few changes for a better result. First the meat mixture was way too watery with a full bottle of dressing plus all the water. I had to cook down the mixture for about 30 minutes to get the water out. That separated the oil from the dressing so I had to keep draining it off. Instead add 3/4 cup water to the taco seasoning, mix it well then pour over browned and drained meat. Bring to boil then simmer the water out until just moist. Add the dressing and beans and let cool before adding to salad or you will get wilted lettuce. Mix in the chips last (I use nacho cheese chips), so they don't get soaked. The family said this was the best taco salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Efaber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 321) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Seven-Layer Salad

This is a salad your guests will enjoy seeing just as much as eating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States