Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I actually tried this recipe. But I made some substitutions. I used groud chicken instead of the groun beef. And i omitted the beans. And used cool rnach doritos instead of regular tortilla chips. It was much loved!!! Oh and i added avocados and sauteed onions and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Love it. Also added 1/2 cup corn cernels for some color and 1/4 catalina salad dressing to replace the french dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I'm giving a 4 star because the taste was excellent. But, my caution to others is that I don't see where 15 min is enough time to cook this down. I had to cook down quite awhile as there is just so much liquid. As others suggested I did not mix all together either. I made the salads individually so that any leftovers could still be used the next time. If it had been mixed together the salad and Doritos would have been way too wet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
this taco salad was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I topped lettuce and chips at the dinner table so I could have leftovers without soggy chips and lettuce. YUM. Kids loved it. Might use more spicy taco seasoning next time. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Absolutely wonderful just as written. The family scarfed this and asked to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The recipe was pretty soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I really like this recipe but I see a number of negative reviews. It's all in the taste of the beholder. One reason why I like this site. Home cooks that take risks for the adventure of new things. I switch out the French dressing for Catalina dressing and add black beans. I let the dressing and water simmer out, cool down then refrigerate for an hour. Before serving, I add the lettuce, tomatoes a can of Rotel and Nachos. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just created this to take to an Easter pot luck today! I had a little too much for the big bowl, so I through some together for the hubs and he is devouring it now. He loves it... I waited to add the meat/beans mixture until making his plate, then added salsa and sour cream to it once it was on the plate. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I liked this and I didn't really change much. The beef mixture was a little watery but I just used a slotted spoon when I spooned it onto the iceberg lettuce. I was afraid the dressing might be too sweet or tangy but it actually wasn't. This is a nice easy mid-week dinner to make when you don't have alot of time and you can easily adapt this recipe to your own tastes. I had some avocados and mixed them up with the taco salad mixture along with a little red onion. Oh and instead of chili beans I used black beans because I like them better. I'm sure you could use any beans you like! My whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States