Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly except I topped lettuce and chips at the dinner table so I could have leftovers without soggy chips and lettuce. YUM. Kids loved it. Might use more spicy taco seasoning next time. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Absolutely wonderful just as written. The family scarfed this and asked to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
The recipe was pretty soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I really like this recipe but I see a number of negative reviews. It's all in the taste of the beholder. One reason why I like this site. Home cooks that take risks for the adventure of new things. I switch out the French dressing for Catalina dressing and add black beans. I let the dressing and water simmer out, cool down then refrigerate for an hour. Before serving, I add the lettuce, tomatoes a can of Rotel and Nachos. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Just created this to take to an Easter pot luck today! I had a little too much for the big bowl, so I through some together for the hubs and he is devouring it now. He loves it... I waited to add the meat/beans mixture until making his plate, then added salsa and sour cream to it once it was on the plate. He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I liked this and I didn't really change much. The beef mixture was a little watery but I just used a slotted spoon when I spooned it onto the iceberg lettuce. I was afraid the dressing might be too sweet or tangy but it actually wasn't. This is a nice easy mid-week dinner to make when you don't have alot of time and you can easily adapt this recipe to your own tastes. I had some avocados and mixed them up with the taco salad mixture along with a little red onion. Oh and instead of chili beans I used black beans because I like them better. I'm sure you could use any beans you like! My whole family enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I combined the beef, beans, and taco seasoning with some chopped onions and a little water and brown that up. I used1/2 catalina and 1/2 thousand island dressing. To keep it from wilting, I had the lettuce on the cutting board, shredded cheddar cheese on the side, chopped up tomatoes in another bowl, and broken up Doritos in another bowl. Then I have a "mix" bowl handy and keep all ingredients separate..my family makes up their own individual taco salad in the mix bowl and transfers it to their plates. That way, when the meal is over and if there are left-overs I can store everything in separate containers and the chips and lettuce don't get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Have used this recipe for years! Yummy!! Usually DO NOT combine ingredients, as some of the kids don't like various ingredients. Make it a salad bar and add: black olives, red onion or green onion, sour cream and any more of your favorites! The meat mixture keeps better, the veggies don't wilt or run together!, AND the chips stay crunchy!! The kids LOVE it!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynthia weeks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Looks gross! Skip the taco seasoning as it's got tons of chemicals and preservatives in it. You can make your own. Same with the French dressing. Bottled dressings full of chemicals and preservatives. And iceberg lettuce has zero nutritional value. Change that to a green leaf or romaine. Seriously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I make this with Catalina Dressing and ground turkey. Good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States