Taco Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is similar to my favorite combination of ingredients for taco salad... I would try and reduce the calorie count by using Catalina Free French dressing, cutting the amount of shredded Cheddar and tortilla chips in half and subbing avocado for sour cream! Still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Love this recipe! I add a couple more items to the party though and that is chopped cucumber and thinly sliced radishes for extra crunch. This is one of my family's faves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
You can cut calories significantly by doing canned lowfat chicken (or shred yourself) a few black beans, fat free sour cream, salsa, and lots of lemon juice. It is very good this way and you don't even miss the dressing/chips. Every now and then I add rice like Chiptole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I make this type of taco salad but use ground turkey instead of beef, taco flavored Doritos instead of tortilla chips, add black beans and kidney beans and instead of french dressing use Ortega taco sauce! It's awesome that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
These are Tex-mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I am concerned about the calories and fat grams. It sounds soooo delicious, but 846 calories and 56.5 grams of fat for 1 meal is a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
My kids LOVE this taco salad. I only use 1/4 cup of french dressing, pinto & black beans, add red onion and don't crush the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Sounds great BUT soooooo fattening!!! After losing 30 pounds don't want to put it back on but love to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The Catalina dressing really adds flavor. Chop some green pepper, toss with Catalina, chill and use as a topper. Adds a nice crunchiness. I've treasured a recipe like this since the mid 1970's. It was called Taxco Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviewers, when making this use CATALINA Dresing and use Dorito chips, this taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States