Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Excellent recipe as is, but I did change some to give it a more taco-like flavor. I added a dash or two of cayenne pepper and a couple shakes of black pepper. I also added in about an 1/8 of a teaspoon of cumin. Lacking chips, I opted for a soft shell taco and this was excellent. I will definitely make again. ***Update*** My better half was not here when I made this, but she had it as leftovers the next day. She is a bit of a taco salad fan, perhaps even fanatic. She said that this was the best she has ever had, and we've had zillions. We served this over Nacho Cheese Doritos chips on day 2. One side note: I feel this recipe serves more than 2. More like 3 or 4. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We thought this recipe was great and super easy! We were bored with our traditional tacos and burritos and found this recipe to be a step up! Light and delicious and easy on time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kballs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Holy Frijoles! This was AWESOME!!!! We made this last night (had to make it in 2 batches because my husband doesn't like onions, peppers, or olives - my batch had everything), but instead of the salt, we used Penzeys Spices Original Taco Seasoning. Oh, and my husband was a little over-zealous with his cheese grating, so we ended up with a little over a cup of cheese for each batch, but it just made it that much better. This is going to become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was desperate for some seasoning in the meat. I thought I would try it this way first but as I suspected it was just a wee bit bland. Easily corrected by adding in some taco seasoning to the meat, which I did tonight. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
1st recipe I every made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Super easy and very good. I used a can of chili beans and a can of black beans, scrumptious! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Loved it. We actually had leftover taco meat mixture, a little spanish rice too. So I used those as the base. Great, easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I've been making this recipe for years, with a few changes though. I add a can of pinto beans instead of chili beans and I add about a half of a pkg of taco seasoning, about 2/3 of a bottle of WISHBONE RUSSIAN dressing and a few drops of tobasco sauce (to taste)Then I use crushed Doritos (try the sweet chili flavored - really good flavor!) sharp cheddar cheese, shredded lettuce and diced tomato. I don't like olives so i leave those out. Also good to add some taco sauce and a dallop of sour cream on top! My family LOVES this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Delicious! This is perfect for a quick and easy weeknight meal! I used a pound of gound beef seasoned with "Taco Seasoning" by Taste of Home Test Kitchen from this site and sauteed it with the green pepper and onion. I drained the chili beans and added them to the salad cold. I also used tortilla chips instead of corn chips and added some avocado slices and a dolllup of sour cream. I did feel this needed a dressing, so I used "Smoked Paprika Vinaigrette" from this site. Overall, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was dinner tonight. I used organic black beans instady of chili beans and I added one batch of homemade taco seasoning to my taco meat. I did not add the extra salt. I used chili-cheese Fritos. I mixed a half cup each of reduced fat sour cream and a half cup of homemade salsa to make a quick "dressing" for the top of the salad. I've got mine in Tupperware to take to work but the boys are going to town on theirs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States