Taco Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I used organic chicken broth, organic tomato sauce, my own homemade taco seasoning mix, long-grain rice and I omitted the olives, only because my kids aren't really fans. I used 2% sharp cheddar and about half called for. That was plenty, to be honest without upping the calories too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I adjusted this recipe to use in my rice cooker. I use the chicken broth, 8oz tomato sauce, taco seasoning, and rice (not instant). I add 14.5 oz of water, put it all in the rice cooker to cook. Add the chesse after it's done. This is a favorite of mine, and sometimes make just this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
OOhhh boy, this was not my favorite, BUT, I didn't hate it either. My lil' guy LOVES taco's and LOVES rice, so I thought that this would fit the bill. He liked it O.k, but I thought it to be odd. I added extra water to it, because as DREGINEK mentioned, it was a bit potent, and instead of adding black olives, I added black beans (which was a nice addition). I think that it could have used a can of mexican diced tomatoes. That would have done it. An O.K. recipe, thanks Kristine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I didn't have any store-bought taco seasonings, so I used "taco seasoning II" from this site. I think this would be really good IN soft shell tacos (chicken or beef) but we were only so-so on this recipe as a sidedish. The taco seasoning - although good-was just too dominant tasting when served as a side by itself. Also, I used 2c rice and this thickened to the perfect consistency. I might make this again for either a taco filling or reduce the amt of taco seasonings when served as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
This was very good. I didn't use the black olives (we don't like them), but I think it was great without them. We also used Colby Jack blend cheese instead. It turned out great. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
Quick, easy & delicious! My husband raved about this dish! I will definitely make this dish the next time I fix any Mexican dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
probably the closest to authentic spanish rice i've made. instead of the chicken broth, i used a goya sazon. i also added black beans. this would also taste good w/ corn added in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We had family over for dinner and made mexican food and this was the hit of the night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Made a huge batch of this for a family reunion. Easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I suggest no salt broth and tomato sauce....I made and it was very salty ..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States