Taco Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a hit in our house! Like the others, I used 1 cup long grain rice, 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes, ground beef, 14.5 oz can of corn and omitted the olives. I was adventurous and used beef broth instead of the chicken broth and whole pack of Taco Bell taco seasoning! I added the shredded cheese to each serving, but no sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I cooked everything in my rice cooker. I used stewed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce, long cooking rice, no olives, added corn instead. After reading most reviews, I only used half a packet of taco seasoning, next time I will use the whole packet (and there will be a next time!!!). One last thing I added - cooked ground beef. Everyone loved it, thanks for such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was flavorful. We topped it with extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is good, but I think we'll stick to my version because my two year old thought it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april_wendall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
My husband couldn't believe this was home made. He ate it up! I did add a can of corn, black beans and rotel. Easy and delicious along side any mexican dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have made this recipe a few times now...it's awsome...we omit the black olives and use tomato sauce as well as a can of rotel style tomatoes (w/ green chiles). I cook it as a side to burritoes, enchiladas, quesadillas, and fajitas....thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME! We LOVED it! Black olives is one of our favorite foods so this is perfect. I had no idea how to put rice in tacos and have it taste good. Now I know how to make is taste amazing. Thanks so much! And I can't believe I had all the ingredients already. Although I didn't have "instant rice", I just made some in 15 min. and added the rest of ingredients. I fried corn tortillas, made some taco-seasoned shredded chicken with diced tomatoes, put that on first and then the rice mixture. It held all the chicken in place and no need to top with cheese since it's already mixed into the rice, just some sour cream. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
i just got done making this recipe, and i think i have a new fave with a couple changes (hence the 4 stars). i used 2C instant brown rice to make it thicker. added one can of black beans, drained and rinsed, and a can of diced fire-roasted tomatoes after the rice was done cooking and returned it to low heat to warm through. i omitted the olives because i'm not a fan. also, instead of using a packet of taco seasoning i used 2T of "taco seasoning I" from this site. i didn't think it even needed the sour cream or cheese so why add the fat and calories. i guess you could put a dollop of sour cream on top and a sprinkling of cheese to serve. really good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
this was great! i was making chicken quesadillas and wanted to throw some extra oomph in since i didn't have much chicken on hand and this was perfect. i added enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce, as i didn't have any on hand. i'm sure it would be good w/ tomato sauce, but the flavor of the enchilada sauce so tasty!! will definately keep this recipe in my arsenal! in fact, using the leftovers tonight as a filler for beef burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This was good and very simple. I made it with quinoa, fresh tomatoes pureed with tomato paste, and my own taco seasoning (green and red chili powder, cumin, garlic). Instead of cheese and sour cream, I mixed in fresh guac, and I added a splash of red wine vinegar and some roasted green chiles, which gave it a nice kick. This would be great in a burrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States