Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
My family loved this!! I used fat free refried beans on the bottom, then meat, then I used fat free greek yogurt in place of sour cream (my family couldn't tell the difference!), chips and cheese. Made it a bit more healthy and they devoured it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This was a quick and easy meal. I added the can of tomatoes and some sautéed onions. A good substitute if you didn't have taco shells. It wouldn't be a go to meal for me but in a pinch, with on hand ingredients an easy dinner or a weekend lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I have made this recipe many times with several different variations and it always comes out delicious. This recipe is very versatile and easy to make. I have made it with beef or chicken depending on what I had available. If you wish to use low fat/no fat ingredients then do as they work well. I always use low fat sour cream and low fat cheese. I usually add black beans, corn, onions and guacamole to my pie. I only gave it four stars because I feel the ingredients are a little sparse as written. Add what you like or make as written--either way it is good. A quick, yummy, family pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I thought this was great and Miss Picky (my daughter) went back for thirds. Was a fabulous recipe and will DEFINATELY make it again.. Thanks Stephanie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very nice base. To beef it up a bit, I simply sauteed bell peppers and onion to mix in with the filling and topped with lettuce, fresh tomatoes, and avocado once out of the oven. Also way way reduced the sour cream, just because I don't need it. This also works great with chicken! Keeper as a base recipe for something better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Fixed this last night. I doubled the recipe, put in a can of black beans and a can of corn. Had a complete meal in one dish. Instead of tortilla cips, I topped the casserole with crushed Doritos. Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Very good dish, not clear directions. I used a 7x7 square glass dish. I didn't know if that was too small or large. I used the dough on the bottom and cut strips for the sides of the dish so it would be a pie crust with sides. Instructions didn't say any of this. I added some butter to the rolls before baking, too. I added chunky tomatos with lime juice and cilantro to the hamburger midway thru cooking with the taco seasoning. layered the chips twice. From the canned tomatos, there was alot of juice and I omitted it when I put it in the dish. I should have added some because I would have liked it to be a little more moist, so if you use the tomatoes you can decide. The tomatos came with the lime juice and cilantro btw. I think because I used 2 layers of chips, that also made it a little dry. But it wasn't badly dry. Again, very good, but the directions do leave you asking some questions. I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made it many times and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Our family really likes this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I've been making this for years, I prefer to use doritos as my tortilla chips and a sprinkling of them at the bottom with the cheese over the crescent rolls. All my friends love Taco Pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States