Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is going to definitely be a regular dish in our house. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
simple and delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I read most of the reviews and tweaked the recipe as follows: I made two 8x8 pies using Pillsbury pizza dough (half in each pan) instead of the crescent rolls baked until light brown then I browned the hamburger meat, drained the fat and added 1 can of drained Mild Rotel, garlic salt and pepper to the meat. I layered refried beans, meat mixture, black olives, Medium Pace Picante salsa, cheese then crushed chips. It turned out great - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susanville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was delicious! I've made variations of this recipe before, but this is the best one I've come across. After reading others' reviews, I did put a can of refried beans on top and cut back on the sour cream by half, then I just eyeballed the amount of tortilla chips on top-maybe used 1 1/2 cups total. Also, for the taco seasoning, I used the "Bill Echols" recipe featured on this website-it lets me control the salt without compromising flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pjlsw
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
We loved this. I made 2 square pans and split the crescent rolls between the 2 since I didn't see the point in using the whole thing in a small pan. I used lean ground turkey and put in my food processor since we like our taco meat ground. Recipe didn't call for water with the taco seasoning. But I added a small amount. Layered sliced olives, salsa sour cream then the cheese. Made guacamole and served with lettuce and tomatoes. Now I have an entire second casserole for another meal this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was soooo good. I changed a few minor things. I baked the crescent roll dough for about half the time. I used reduced fat crescent rolls, fat free sour cream, and reduced fat cheese. I served it with shredded lettuce and fresh salsa. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Followed the directions except I added a can of diced tomatoes to the beef as it simmered with the taco seasoning. It turned out good. Everyone in the family liked it. Also if you want to make it lighter use ground turkey instead of beef and fat free sour cream. Turns out just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I didn't have any crescent rolls, so i made my own pie crust. Was a big hit with my picky family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is in the oven so have not tasted it yet but just know it is going to be good based on the ingredients. I added most of a can of chopped black olives. The only thing that I question is all those chips. I had an 11 oz bag, not a 14 oz bag and I thought it was A LOT OF CHIPS but I put them on and am hoping for the best. UPDATE!! It was very good but I wouldn't put that many chips on next time. I made it in a 9x13 pan and 1 1/2 pound of ground beef. My husband who never complains but he complimented this dish 5 or 6 times! Wow, he was impressed, so I will probably make this often. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe was good, but wouldn't recommend the crescent rolls as a base for the crust, it should be of a less buttery taste, so it was all good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States