Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This was very tasty and very quick & easy to make. These are all good things for a weeknight dinner. I made some changes...adding chopped onion and chopped black olives to the ground beef mixture. I used my own spices that were on hand - chili powder, ground cumin and Mexican oregano. All of these herbs and spices can be used to taste. I used a small tub of low fat sour cream and just enough shredded cheese to cover. This was a hit with my husband. It was supposed to do us for 2 meals, but he ate most of it - a sure sign of success. It would be good to have nice fresh lettuce, peppers, green onions and tomatoes on the side to make the meal more balanced. Thanks for an easy and tasty recipe! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
with a few teaks this turned out really good and the whole family liked it. I did not undercook the crust, I sauteed 2 types of onions, some garlic with a chopped yellow pepper. Added the seasoning to the meat with some black olives.Then added a thin layer of corn and a can of kidney beans. Used low fat sour cream, shredded Mexican blend cheese and crushed corn ships. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Very quick, easy Mexican style recipe. Family friendly, especially kid friendly. I will probably add tomatoes with green chilis or a jar of salsa but not because of taste enhancement...it tastes fabulous as is. I just like my Mexican sloppy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very simple to make and the family loved it. We did top it with additional taco fixings at serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
this was okay, but it was even better the next day. I'm sure my problem was that I didn't wait long enough before digging in. It turn into something soupy! But the next day it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Pretty good although it did seem kinda dry between the crescent dough and the chips. It could use some more of a sauce/liquid component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian S.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Tastes wonderful. My family likes taco salad so we added Salsa. After baking tossed some tomatoes and lettuce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I made this for dinner last evening - but it turned out only soso. The flavor combination was great but we didn't care for the Pillsbury crescent roll dough in the bottom - it did not seem to have the right texture or taste for this dish. We also didn't like the sour cream mixed right into the meat mixture as others had suggested. I will definitely try this recipe again, but will be omitting the crescent roll dough and sour cream, and try to modify it with a different type of bottom crust. Will also instead serve it with cold sour cream and lettuce. Great recipe idea tho and I look forward to playing around with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
good, just as you would expect it to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Holy moly this was GOOD! The whole family liked it!! I used probly 1 and 1/2 pounds ground beef, and 1 1/2 pkgs taco seasoning and added 3/4 c water (I think the submitter forgot the water?). Used a slightly bigger baking dish and still had enough crescent dough. I added sliced black olives (probly 1/2c to 3/4 c) to the cooked and taco seasoned meat, colby jack cheese and I used corn chips instead of nacho chips (adding some to the top of the meat before the sour cream layer too. I served shredded lettuce, diced grape tomatoes and extra chopped black olives on the side. Next time I will double the recipe and use a 13x9 pan, cooking a little longer to compensate. My family demands a bigger one... FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States