Taco Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2015
OMG, comfort food at its finest! I needed to make some changes: used ground chicken as I don't eat beef. Since I had only a 9x9" square pan I got away with not using 16oz of sour cream, just 8oz. Also to make it a tad healthier, I added a layer of black beans, corn and chopped tomato. Next time I'll throw in some chopped jalapeno before spreading the sour cream and shredded cheddar. Having read other reviewer's suggestions, I also used low salt tortilla chips - I wanted a crispier topping so after baking, I browned the casserole under the broiler (low) for a couple of minutes. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alauteb

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I make this all the time and adore it! Add some fresh tomatoes and jalapeños for an upgrade. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Definitely a keeper was very good. I would add salsa to it but some family members don't like that. I had it on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Mcmenemy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
I made this several months ago for my mom and 97 year old grandma. They loved it. I'm working on filling a freezer for them so they don't have to buy groceries or cook. I'm definitely going to include this one in their rotation. I would note that if my family were eating it I would add some more spice. Seemed kind of bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This was so stupidly easy and fast, I was quite happy! One of my kids has a lactose sensitivity, so we left off the sour cream, but my husband just scooped some on top of his dish and that worked fine. We also added refried beans- I blended the cheese in the beans and melted in the microwave, then added it on top of the meat. I think the recipe may have intended flavored chips, like a Doritos, but I just used regular old tortilla chips, and not many of them, but that was just because the family broke into them before the day assigned this recipe, haha. Honestly, though, I liked it better like this, as it tasted like "real" food, not the sort of processed flavorings, if that makes any sense. Thanks for posting such a family-friendly, fast and easy recipe, it will be a staple for us all school year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by omekii
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
Wonderful and easy to prepare. Very fulfilling, defiantly a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omekii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
My family loved this. I made it exactly as written and it turned out perfect. Very yummy. I had to put 2 layers of crescent rolls because it came with 4 triangles. Baked it for 10 minutes, added the meat, sour cream, shredded cheese and crushed Doritos on top. Bake for 10 more minutes. Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This turned out great! I think my son will like it too. I added hot salsa over the layer of ground beef and chopped green onions over the sour cream. I may add diced green chilies next time too, I like some heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This recipe was very good. But I tweeked it a bit. I took the advice of another review and only baked the crescent roll half done so that it wouldn't get burnt. I made my regular rotel dip for this. I browned 1lbs of ground beef and added 1 pack of taco seasoning. Then I transferred the beef to my crockpot, added 2 cans of rotel, and half a block of velveeta cheese. Once it was all the cheese was melted I layered the mixture on top of the half baked crescent roll, then shredded Mexican cheese, and then the crushed tortilla chips. I baked it for about 7 minutes until the cheese was melted and it was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I made it with chicken instead of beef. And added a can of Rotel (drained) also. Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autism Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Pie

All your favorite taco fixings in a yummy, cheesy casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States