Taco in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is perfect for camping since there are no plates to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We call these Walking Tacos. We have made this with the Boy/Cub Scouts and its a hit everytime. I like to make fresh salsa with it to give it that extra special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Hi there! Thursday night was "taco" night at our house. My fiance ALWAYS craves tacos (it was his favorite childhood meal) and asks for me to make them quite often. To change things up a bit, I decided to give JHERCIK's idea (i.e. an "idea"... not a recipe, IMHO) a try. While I liked this, I think it is the idea that intrigues me, definitely not the end product. This would be fine to order at a festival or sports event (and the idea seems to have originated there to begin with...), but tacos are my preferred choice for dining in. Yes, these are "convenient" (i.e. no plates to clean), but if you think about it, you DO have to clean the skillet you cooked your meat in and any dishes used to cook your sides (although they are not necessary). My fiance likened this to taco salad and thought that it would be much easier to eat out of a bowl as opposed to in a bag. He also made another good point.... You could just purchase a large bag of generic chips (I used small bags of nacho cheese Doritos since Frito's were not available at my local grocer) and then divide equal portions into Zip-lock storage bags, add the fixin's, seal and shake. Not as authentic, but cheaper and much easier to mix (but there's still the bowl vs. bag issue...). All in all, this was neat to try, but it's not something I'd make again (although I'd order it at a game or at the Covered Bridge Festival!). Thanks for sharing your idea, JHERCIK :) I'm sure kids would go nuts for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is my favorite thing to get at baseball games and such, but I never thought about making them at home until I saw this recipe. This was so good and so fun to eat.... I let my daughter crush up the little bags of chips we used spicy nacho dorritos and frito lay corn chips. Then I put refried beans and meat in and let her put the cheese lettuce tomato onion jalapeno sour cream and salsa on top for me. My mom and boyfriend looked at me like I was a little weird but I had fun eating them anyways. I served with mexican rice very good dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are great. Fun to have for a party with children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Fun for parties or potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
So smart!! We always make our taco salad like this, but never thought of just using individual bags!! Clean up was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaybaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I LOVE THIS RECIPE!! I'm a Senior in high school in West Virginia, the state really doesn't matter only I don't know if they have done our variation anywhere else, they're so popular that our school uses them for fundraisers; but we use Nacho Cheese Doritos instead of corn chips and it's REALLY good too, and easy if you buy the smaller bag and just throw your lettuce and such in the bag. If you haven't tried this recipe, you really should!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
It was fast and clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momster
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
We used Doritos (in place of the corn chips) and Catalina Dressing (in place of the salsa)...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momster

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States