Taco in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Dont need the bag! Just buy the frito scoops and decorate them around the edges of your plate. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
My family lived this recipe! Even my DD who hates traditional tacos said this was her new favorite dinner. I used cheese flavored Doritos instead of corn chips. This would also make a grata dinner while camping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
5 stars based solely on nostalgia, great memories & convenience.... this "recipe" has been around forever (I think the cro-magnon originally used pterodactyl lol) but seriously ive been making so many variations of walking tacos since I was allowed to use the stove lol. I made a variation last night & dint mind extra clean up since I had the cast iron skillet already dirtied so I crushed up an entire family sized bag of the original Doritos dumped them in the skillet after removing the meat (used ground pork AND ground beef, extra yummy) dumped the mixture on top & added all imaginable toppings to that (I love adding black beans, kidney beans, avocado & dirty rice) before slathering the entire thing with an entire jar of salsa con queso lol then I baked it in the oven @ 400 degrees till the exposed chips get browned & crispy. Then I just plop the entire skillet on a folded dish towel in the center of the table & devour it upon paper plates.... makes meeeeeee mouth water everytime lol.... my nephew loved it & called it the magical taco mountain... I mean it hovered a good 3"- 4" above the skillet rim.... no left overs :-( makes me sad I have to wait a cpl weeks for this delicious concoction to hit my table again.... happy eatings everyone :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
A great idea. I made a large batch for an picnic. Everyone chose between Doritos, Fritos, tortilla chips, and all the side fixings. Brought a bunch of gladware bowls, load them up, throw the lid on and shake. One of the best picnics lunches we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I already LOVE Fritos, this just get a lot more bought from my side of things~ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love this recipe for quick lunches. I put taco meat in a thermos to keep in cold and I put the baggies of cold ingredients in the cooler part of the lunch bag to keep them cold. I also use the bigger size chips for a bigger serving and they are a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was such a fun idea!! On the nights I work this recipe is PERFECT!!! I did use Doritos instead a fritos and never measured the cheese...lol Loved this idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I iowa we call this a walking taco! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I use this recipe for my daughter's 13th birthday party and follow up with some Smore's and it worked out great! Each kid was handed a bag of Fritos and allowed to pick their choices from the other ingredients available. We supplemented with olives and jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Where I come from, these are called, Walking Tacos. I didn't change a thing, except to unfortunately serve them in a bowl this time. Only because the big family size bag of Fritos were on sale and I had to be frugal. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States