Taco in a Bag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
we called these 'walking tacos' and everyone was curious of what a walking taco was so we sold tons of them at our townwide festival
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawndra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
When I was preparing this meal, my fiance laughed and said he felt like he was about to eat ramon noodles for dinner... (like it was a cheap, icky meal), but he really enjoyed it and so did I. :) Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Gotta love this! It's offered at every concession stand around here, and we STILL like to have it at home. I used cheaper, non-"fritos/doritos" chips and it bled through the bag, though. Will stick with the real thing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
These are awesome & called "Walking Tacos" in Minnesota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I put mine in containers and just shook it...it tasted good...my bf loved it but its just not my thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kait20

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is perfect for camping since there are no plates to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
We call these Walking Tacos. We have made this with the Boy/Cub Scouts and its a hit everytime. I like to make fresh salsa with it to give it that extra special flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Hi there! Thursday night was "taco" night at our house. My fiance ALWAYS craves tacos (it was his favorite childhood meal) and asks for me to make them quite often. To change things up a bit, I decided to give JHERCIK's idea (i.e. an "idea"... not a recipe, IMHO) a try. While I liked this, I think it is the idea that intrigues me, definitely not the end product. This would be fine to order at a festival or sports event (and the idea seems to have originated there to begin with...), but tacos are my preferred choice for dining in. Yes, these are "convenient" (i.e. no plates to clean), but if you think about it, you DO have to clean the skillet you cooked your meat in and any dishes used to cook your sides (although they are not necessary). My fiance likened this to taco salad and thought that it would be much easier to eat out of a bowl as opposed to in a bag. He also made another good point.... You could just purchase a large bag of generic chips (I used small bags of nacho cheese Doritos since Frito's were not available at my local grocer) and then divide equal portions into Zip-lock storage bags, add the fixin's, seal and shake. Not as authentic, but cheaper and much easier to mix (but there's still the bowl vs. bag issue...). All in all, this was neat to try, but it's not something I'd make again (although I'd order it at a game or at the Covered Bridge Festival!). Thanks for sharing your idea, JHERCIK :) I'm sure kids would go nuts for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This is my favorite thing to get at baseball games and such, but I never thought about making them at home until I saw this recipe. This was so good and so fun to eat.... I let my daughter crush up the little bags of chips we used spicy nacho dorritos and frito lay corn chips. Then I put refried beans and meat in and let her put the cheese lettuce tomato onion jalapeno sour cream and salsa on top for me. My mom and boyfriend looked at me like I was a little weird but I had fun eating them anyways. I served with mexican rice very good dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
These are great. Fun to have for a party with children!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States