Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I made this recipe for my birthday fiesta and it turned out great. I didn't use the lettuce. I used Rosarita vegetarian beans, light sour cream, and taco shredded cheese mix. I think this recipe works best with a chunky, not so saucy salsa. I used Pace Chipotle Thick and Chunky. It was a hit! My husband and I loved it so much, we made it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I gave this 4 stars because I thought this had great potential. I thought there were too many beans and I only used 2 cans. Next time I make this I will use 1 can of refried beans and double the sourcream and use 3 pks of taco seasoning for added zest. I didn't use salsa at all but put lots of fresh tomatoes lettuce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I am rating this on the version that I made. This dip was wonderful, and one friend at the party I brought it to said that I was not allowed to bring the leftovers home. The only things I did differently was to put the sour cream on plain (no taco mix) and I made homemade guacomole that I put on top of the sour cream. So the layers went beans, sour cream, guacomole, salsa, veggies and cheese. I think the homemade guacomole really adds to this dip, and makes the use of the taco packet not really necessary, since you don't want too many competing flavors going on. Thanks for the recipe...I will use it often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I thought this dip was average. It was good for a change, but by no means fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is the best, I disagree with the previous ratings, I think the amount of beans is perfect, everybody loves this dip, I followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
The submitter of this recipe has requested that we change the amount of salsa listed in the ingredients from 1 (20 ounce) jar to 1/2 cup. She writes: "spread a thin layer of salsa over the beans, and then add the other ingredients." This will take care of the sogginess that some reviewers have noted! - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This turned out very watery, even though I didn't use but 6 oz. of salsa. The flavor was good, but it was hard to get past the watery appearance. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Generally a good taste, but Way too many beans...cut back to at MOST 2 cans. Then avocado with pico mixed in, omitted the layer of tomatoes, then a layer of taco spiced sour cream, mexican blend shredded cheese, and olives. The more olives, the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Huge hit. I chilled the beans, sour cream and salsa before topping with lettuce. I thought that worked well. I had actually never seen my teenage nieces eat ANYTHING before so I was pretty pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I make this all the time...and it is always received well. I omit the olives and add tomatoes instead. Also use a mexican blend of shredded cheese instead of just cheddar. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States