Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Best taco dip I've ever had!! I also went with 2 cans of beans and yes you have to cut the lettuce very finely. Also, changing the layers to: beans, lettuce, salsa, sour cream, olives, cheese helped hold things together if you're worried about ease of dipping. Making it a little in advance will also allow the lettuce to absorb some liquid, which helps to make dipping easier. I added some coriander and cumin in addition to the taco seasoning, skipped the tomatoes and used extra salsa, and opted for low fat sour cream and cheese, then topped it with a few canned jalapeno slices. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Okay in very small quantities. Far too bland, and the ratio of beans and lettuce to other ingredients is too high. The composition is nearly impossible to dip or scoop with anything but the largest tortilla chip, made so by the loose toppings. The problem is made worse by not cutting the lettuce into the smallest bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Got RAVE reviews at my Halloween party. 2 cans of beans were plenty, and I used canned Mexican style tomatoes instead of chopped fresh ones. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaPGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I use guacamole rather than lettuce. I also chill the dip prior to adding the tomatoes, onions, and black olives. (I rarely add the shredded cheese.) I could eat it with a spoon (and have been known to do so!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Good, the lettuce made it interesting! Next time may try adding guacamole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I tried this because of the high rating and was not disappointed! I added 4 oz. extra cheese and one jalapeno and one banana pepper chopped; I used green onions; I used homemade refried beans; and I left out the olives. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
A hit! I used only 2 cans of beans, added a thin layer of salsa with lots of small diced avocado mixed in, then topped with sour cream, shredded iceberg lettuce, then cheese. I forgot to mix in the taco seasoning to the sour cream but it was still awesome. I think the lettuce gives it such a fresh taste. Everyone loved it at our mountain weekend-it ended up being our lunch cause we couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Every time I make this, it gets rave reviews, from everyone - young, older, male, female, vegetarian or not. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I used 2 cans and it was still too much beans for our tastes. I would suggest adding cream cheese to the sour cream and at least a cup of salsa-you could barely taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
This dip is a hit with my friends and family! I add refried beans on the bottom layer, I also use crumbled ground beef as a layer on occasion. A very simple, make ahead dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Davis Schroeder

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States