Taco Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I have made this dip for years. I like putting 1 bell pepper and 1 tomato both chopped and pushed down into the beans, then add the other layers....it gives the dip a freshness and additional crunch. Do Not skip the step of mixing the taco seasoning with the sour cream....that is the main point/secret to this wonderful dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
YUMMMMMM Perfect the way it is. I'm thinking nextime I will try some ground beef taco meet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I use the same ingredients (pretty much). I use refried black beans and don't add onion (but want to try) for tostadas. I do add taco meat though and sometimes guacamole/avocado slices. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
A great starter recipe for your own interpretation. I don't use lettuce ( it tends to get soggy) and I use green onions instead of white for less bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Made this for a potluck. Everyone raved about it! Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
The husband and kids inhaled this. I cut this recipe in half and made one extra layer with last night's taco meat (gets rid of leftovers and makes a yummy dip for the boys--win/win!) and I used green onions, reduced fat sour cream, homemade taco seasoning and homemade salsa. Huge hit. When I got back from coffee with the girls, it was gone. This was a snap to assemble in the morning and cover with foil before I left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
very easy and quick. I used green onions, left out the olives and lettuce. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This dip was flavorful, but called for way too much refried beans! I used 1 and 1/2 to 2 cans...three made it much too thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charvavar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Best taco dip I've ever had!! I also went with 2 cans of beans and yes you have to cut the lettuce very finely. Also, changing the layers to: beans, lettuce, salsa, sour cream, olives, cheese helped hold things together if you're worried about ease of dipping. Making it a little in advance will also allow the lettuce to absorb some liquid, which helps to make dipping easier. I added some coriander and cumin in addition to the taco seasoning, skipped the tomatoes and used extra salsa, and opted for low fat sour cream and cheese, then topped it with a few canned jalapeno slices. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Okay in very small quantities. Far too bland, and the ratio of beans and lettuce to other ingredients is too high. The composition is nearly impossible to dip or scoop with anything but the largest tortilla chip, made so by the loose toppings. The problem is made worse by not cutting the lettuce into the smallest bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States