Taco Dip II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was good. I changed it up a little to suit our tastes. I used taco seasoning packet and tomato sauce instead of water for the taco meat, and I added chopped red pepper on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I make this recipe all the time, boyfriend loves it. The only thing I do differently is instead of refried beans, I add 1/2 to 1 lb of hot sausage with the ground beef to add some more heat and flavor, and makes it a little meatier. He always loved it with the refried beans but raves about it now with the sausage! Thanks Amber for the great recipe!--also wanted to add that I use part sour cream and part cream cheese to make that middle layer a little creamier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Overall, this turned out great! I also added 1 taco seasoning packet to the ground beef mixture, and I used about 2 1/2 cups of cheese total. I used a mix of shredded "taco cheese" (a blend of cheddar, Monterey Jack, Colby cheeses and spices) and shredded cheddar cheese. I used about 2 cups of cheese before baking and then added the rest about 5 minutes before removing the dish from the oven. This dish took me about an hour to prepare the first time and about 10 minutes to cool, so I would budget time accordingly. Thanks so much for thus great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was very good. A few guests said it was too spicy for them and I used mild taco sauce. Another guest won't eat anything with sour cream in it. I will make this again but only do half with the jalapeno rings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I added crushed taco shells between the meat and veggie layers for a taco casserole! Something different and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
This was outstanding, the whole thing was gone when served at a Longaberger party. I used fat free refried beans and sour cream to make it a bit healthier. I also used part-skim cheese and it turned out great. I will make this again for the next party I attend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This dip had very good flavor. I made this the night before and used canned tomatoes and only the medium taco sauce. I also only put jalapenos on half to not make it too spicy. Everyone at work thought that is tasted good, but it didn't look very appetizing. When cooked, it became very watery, almost like a soup. I believe that was from the combination of the canned tomatoes and the sour cream. Next time I will serve the sour cream separate. I also think that it could definitely use more of the tomatoes and black olives. For a dip this size 9x13, the amounts recommended did not come close to covering it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This was a hit! My mom used to make a similar version. I took out the sour cream and out it on the side for people to add to their plates. I don't like sour cream but I did take a bite and the coolness and cold of the sour cream was a good mix with the spicy of the jalapeno. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Alright...kind of boring. It gets 3 stars because my husband liked it enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I get so many compliments on this dish. I took it last year to a New Year's party and they want it back again. It's not your normal nacho/taco dip. Even the kids couldn't stop eating it spicy or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States