Taco Chip Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Tried as directed with the exception of milk wash to make sure the chips stuck. I liked the chicken better without the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Briano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I was excited about this recipe because I love wings chips and taco seasoning, but I was disappointed. I used both the tortilla chips and Doritos and crushed them up really fine so they stuck very well but there was not really any flavor. I will try these again but will try marinating them like some of the other reviews say so they aren't so blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Was a hit at the party i took them to. I rolled the wings in some olive oil and the taco seasoning and chips stuck to the wings good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyrim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
One of my fave ways of doing chicken. I melt a little butter in the baking dish and roll chicken in that and then the crumbs (this solves the sticking problem), and I also use other chicken parts for a main dish. For from-scratch types, you can also use the taco seasoning recipes on site for a good result. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe has a major error that dooms the cook to failure. If you rinse and dry your chicken wings, nothing will stick to them. I made an egg wash with one beaten egg and some water, rolled each wing in it, and then rolled it in the chip mixture. I baked these the full 40 minutes, but the result was chewy wings with rubbery skin. They really needed to bake longer. They were average-sized wings, not overly large. I probably won't make them again as I really prefer my wings with crispy skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is good and different. I used a mix of plain tortilla chips and doritos .I also added some crushed red peppers, garlic powder, and onion powder to the mix. These were not bad. I made some for my daughter using boneless chicken strips and made tex-mex sourcream and taco seasoning dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This recipe was really easy. I made it for my family on a weekday when I did not have much time to cook a big meal. It was good; however I substituted the taco chips for doritos and it worked well (the chips did not stick to the wings like I wanted it to). Instead of adding the taco seasoning to the mix I rubbed it on the wings. My family said they were okay... and they would eat it again but it was not their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I did quite a few changes to these wings. First, I marinated them in tequila for 2 hours and then added HOT taco seasoning and marinated for 2 more hours. I rolled them in crushed tortilla chips and Mexican blend cheese adn baked in the oven. I served them with fiesta ranch for some extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe and made a few changes of my own. I used cheese flavored Dorrito's with Lawrey's Hot Taco spice for the coating. I combined hotwings sauce with milk, fresh garlic, sea salt & black pepper to coat the chicken. Greesed the cooking pan lightly with butter. I melted chedar cheese on the chicken, added more hotwing sauce. I served the chicken on: lettuce, tomatos, avocado, red onion with blue cheese dressing. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JQT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Hole, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
pretty good. The kids (age 4 & 6) even ate it up. I used chicken breast cut in chunks like chicken nuggets. I put the chips and taco seasoning in a ziploc bag, then dipped chicken in milk and put it in the bag and tossed it around. The chips did stick pretty well this way. The chicken was crunchy and good. Great flavor. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States