Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I made this a few nights ago. First off, I did NOT make it according to original posted recipe. I read many reviews before making. Essentially, I made my own 'recipe' using the original as a base to jump from. It was a good meal. Taking suggestions from other reviewers I made the following changes: Used a jar of thick & chunky salsa instead of tomatoes; lined the bottom of the casserole dish with re-fried beans and some cheese before adding meat mixture; added black beans into the meat mixture for color and flavor; used medium sized shell pasta instead of elbow macaroni; used taco seasoning according to package, NOTE: if you do that, be sure to add another seasoning pack as directed in original recipe ('taco' flavoring was 'lost' in the mix of everything else); did NOT add tortilla chips before baking, added them after cooking to keep crunchy; added some black olives on top with shredded MEXICAN flavored cheese; only cooked in oven for about 15 minutes; topped with shredded lettuce, sour cream, & taco sauce before eating. Essentially, almost an entirely different recipe. It was good and filling. Even our three year old ate it. Will make again, but will assuredly add that second taco seasoning pack in the mix for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arameth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I used Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I also used extra cheese and only baked for 15 minutes. It was a big hit with my family. Great week night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Another hit that will be made again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Used diced tomatoes with green chillies to give it a little kick. Garnished with black olives and green unions. Turned out great, it's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Lefebvre-Reppi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Fair taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I made quite a few a alterations due to previous suggestions. I swapped the soup and tomatoes for salsa and so I only used half a packet of taco mix. I added corn and black beans and black olives. I also layered the cheese and chips (love cheese). Since the pasta was done and my corn thawed it only needed 20 or so minutes in the oven. Turned out great! My daughter and I love it! Add a little sour cream and taco sauce if you prefer, but it is delicious on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good. I think I would add some black beans and corn for little more texture, variety and fiber, but overall very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
As a senior citizen, living alone, I am always looking for simple recipes. Casseroles are good because I freeze in individual servings. That said, DID NOT like this recipe at all. I am not a fan of using canned soups in recipes because they contain too much sodium. The tomato soup doesn't work. It's too sweet. I would not recommend this recipe. However, I am a good cook. This is probably a good recipe for people who are learning to cook and is pretty fail-safe. So....that's my story and I'm stickin' to it. Happy eating. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was a very simple recipe to make, my 9 and 5 year old did most of the work. The only changes I made to the recipe is I used the taco seasoning recipe that can be found on this site vs the package mix. Also, I didn't move the mixture to a 9x13 as I hate doing dishes. I turned this into a 1 pot meal by cooking everything in my deep oven safe skillet. I think next time I shall try adding kidney or pinto beans and possibly some corn to make it a true one pot meal. Thank you for the recipe it is going into our Taco Tuesday rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 595) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States