Taco Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe. Everyone loved it. I modified it slightly by using a can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis instead of plain diced tomatoes to add a little extra zip. This recipe is going into my rotation of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was easy to cook and good but not great. We added black olives to the toppings which helped. This recipe has potential and would be better if you kick it up a bit with a couple of diced jalapeno peppers cooked with the beef mixture. We may try this again using fritos style corn chips instead of the tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This casserole was a big hit! I will definitely be making it again in the near future! I used a combination of cool ranch and nacho cheese tortilla chips and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
You know, sometimes you just want a quick, easy, bellyful of comfort food - and this fits the bill perfectly. I always cook a new recipe exactly the first time so I know how the base dish is supposed to taste. I was skeptical about the tomato soup, but used it anyway. I thought the recipe is really good even without much tweaking. So, I'm giving this recipe 5 stars - not because it's the most delicious gourmet dish I've ever tasted, but because it delivers exactly what it intends to: a tasty, flavorful, quick, easy, satisfying, inexpensive meal. Most of the ingredients are pantry staples, and the dish is extremely flexible. Can't wait to try some of the other reviewers' recommendations. Crushed Fritos on top? Yes please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa Hice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrittalee
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
LOVED IT!! This is such an easy and quick dinner for weeknights! I usually try to follow the recipe to a T, especially when it's my first time making it, however I did stray a bit...I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and added a can of Goya black beans for extra protein. I also took the advice of one reviewer and put a cup of the crushed tortillas on the bottom w/some cheese and baked it for 5 minutes, added everything else in, and then about a 1/2 cup on top with a little more cheese. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Debi Van Name!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrittalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was a great recipe. Easy too!!. I modified it as well. I am on weigthe watchers so I cut back on the tortilla chips, used fat free cheese. I also cooked the beef and the added the taco seasonino before the tomatoes. But the best part was adding half a can of fat free refried beans. My son is a picky eater and had 2 helpings of this. It came to 6 pts a serving. Great meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Made this tonight with my own twist. Browned 2 lbs of ground beef. While that was draining I sautéed 1/2 of a diced onion then added the ground beef back to it. I then used 2 packets of taco seasoning and 1 cup of water and let it simmer for a minute. When the beef mixture was hot I added 1 15.5 oz jar of salsa and one regular can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I warmed that up a bit and added 8 oz of cooked elbow macaroni then spread it in a 13 x 9 pan. I mixed in a bit of shredded cheese and topped it with chopped black olives and more cheese. Baked at 400 for about 20 min and it was perfect! Serves with salsa, sour cream and tortilla chips on the side. Hubby loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
this was a hit with my kids but I felt like it was basically hamburger helper with chips and cheese on top. Not very exciting but good for feeding a big group of kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
We eat lots of Mexican/TexMex food-made this last night looking for an easy recipe for my 23 year old son to make but won't make this one again. As easy as it was, I don't think he'll make it either, it didn't taste good. The only thing I changed was the pasta was GF pasta but I'm used to that. This recipe tasted too tomato soup-y. No thanks. That's not what Mexican food tastes like to me. I offered the left overs to DH for lunch today- he said no thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
The entire family liked this meal, even asked for seconds. Followed the recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States