Taco Bake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Marvelous! I love how you can use whole grain tortilla chips and fat free sour cream and cheese to make the recipe a bit better for you. Also, you can keep it as it is, super easy and quick, or if you have more time, you could chop up and throw in some in-season tomatoes as well. Fabby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was not outstanding, but it was easy, quick and good. I did not drain the tomatoes and still added the water with the taco mix and I doubled the cheese. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
This was just ok, a bit dry. We chose to use Frito's but 18 oz. is way too much, a regular sized bag is 9 3/4 oz. The sour cream seemed to get "lost" in the mix and had to add more while eating it to get some moisture along with some iceburg lettuce and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This was very good - totally satisfied my craving for Mexican food. Mine turned out like glorified nachos, however. I made about a quarter recipe, using approx. 4 oz of meat, and also used restaurant-style tortilla chips. Guacamole on the side is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Wonderful! The only thing I did different was I added a can of Pepperjack Cheese soup. My whole family really liked it....even my meat and potatoes husband. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was very good. I followed the recipe, although I did not drain the tomatoes, and therefore did not need the water. We don't like a lot of spiciness, the green chiles in the tomatoes is about as hot as we go! I used the Taco Seasoning I from this site, also. I baked a smaller batch, (I have leftover meat mixture for another day), only filling a 9x5 loaf pan for three of us. It only took about 10 mins. in the oven. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Well, overall, the recipe sure has potential. I found a couple things wrong with it. There were WAY too many chips. And, the 20 minute cook time was a little too long. But, with a few tweaks, I think it could be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
HUGE hit with the family. I had it in my head to make this for supper when I realized I didn't have a taco seasoning packet, nor did I have a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I opted to use spices from my rack: cayenne pepper, seasoning salt, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and italian seasoning. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used salsa instead of the canned tomatoes. Due to many reviews saying the dish comes out dry, I used 1 1/3 cup salsa and 2/3 cup water in addition to the 1 cup sour cream. I also added some diced black olives to the meat mixture before layering. A wonderfully yummy, mildy spicy enchilada tasting casserole. I have no doubt that if I had followed the recipe to a T (had I had the right ingredients) it would have turned out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZ Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creighton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was very good. My hubby and 4 kids ate it up. My 7 yr old stepson told me he has never ate anything this good before. And my very picky 8 yr old ate it up. I didn't have tomatoes with chilis in them so I just used a can of diced tomatoes. My hubby doesn't like chunks of tomatoes so I pureed it first. Other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out great! The chips do get soggy. But no one cared. They actually didn't like the chips that were still crunchy. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Very good, I recommend this to everyone. I would suggest not draining the diced tomatoes to add more moisture. I urge everyone mexican food lover to try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States