Taco Bake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Angela
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was great, I had to change it up a bit because I didn't have the ingredients it called for. Inplace of the Sour Cream I added 2/3 cup of heavy cream and 3 Tablespoons of Cream Cheese. Then instead of the tomatoes with green chilies I just used green chillies and a can of southwestern style corn (with black beans, onions, and red peppers). Then in between the layers I added some sliced black olives. Thank you for this dish my family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I used Fritos instead of tortilla chips, and they stayed nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Fantastic recipe and super easy to make! I made a couple changes as I was worried it'd be too runny and make the chips soggy. I browned the meat, added the taco seasoning, 2/3 water, diced tomato & peppers, italian bread crumbs (for consistency) and when I put the sour cream in, it was perfect. Not too runny, not too dry looking. Also added chili powder, garlic powder and cacher's seasoning. When I layered, I put chips, balsamic rice with fajita seasoning in it, meat mixture and cheese. The rice kept the meat mixture off the chips and they were crunchy and crispy for the most part. It tasted Fantastic! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
A great quick meal, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kja303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Used a can of rinsed black beans and some fresh corn instead of meat. Also used 1 1/2 c. salsa instead of tomatoes. Used two flour tortillas for the bottom layer and crushed tortilla chips for the second layer. Fast, easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I did this receipe last night.Husband loved this one I did too. My 11 yr old thought it was o.k he's not big on tacos,and the six yr old never eats what we eat very picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I made this because I had leftover taco meat, and it was great. I just added sour cream to the meat sauce. My husband and I even enjoyed the leftovers a couple days later. I didn't have any plain tortilla chips so I used "Salsa and Limon" flavored tortilla chips. (they made it a little spicier). This will be a quick dinner to make. I will make sure I have normal chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was simple, used things I normally keep in the pantry, and tasted good too. I added the sour cream after the filling simmered. I did add a little garlic and some cumin to the meat as it was cooking and some roasted Hatch chile pepper that I shaved off the chunk of frozen peppers. I used an American/Cheddar cheese blend since it is what I had. I liked the top layer the best as the chips were still crunchy, but I really didn't care for the soggy corn tortilla layer beneath. I could have used plain corn tortillas for that and saved my good chips. Overall, this is a good filling recipe and while it wasn't outstanding, it was a nice comfort meal on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
easy to throw together and even keeps well in the fridge for a few days if you want to make it ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Am I the only one who had a soggy layer of mushy chips on the bottom? Everyone in my family complained about it. I followed the instructions exactly except substituted salsa for the tomatoes with chilies. I even used lean ground sirloin. It had a good flavor, but mush on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States