Taco Bake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought this was pretty good, there are a few things I would change. I would not use tortilla chips on the bottom the next time. I used them this time and by the time the dish had baked, they were soggy and blah. I did use some medium tortillas after layer one and those did not get as soggy as the chips. I still felt like I needed something crunchy so we crumbled tortilla chips on top of the bake. I also used a large jar of mild salsa and a can of diced tomatoes (slightly drained) which helped it not dry out. A good recipe for family dinners but if you get home later from work like I do, cook the meat mixture the night before and it saves a bunch of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fotosnatcher

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Just okay, my kids did not like it and it became soggy very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
very good recipe-we changed it up a bit by not adding the tortilla chips until serving the beef mixture- it made it crunchy so my kids would eat it and still had a very nice taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very good. The kids loved it. I used velveeta and sharp chedder and instead of chips I used rice, because it was what I had on hand. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Land, Texas, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I found this to be just okay. I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was a great recipe! I used 1pkg of taco seasoned ground turkey instead. I also sauteed about a half an onion and 4cloves of garlic along with a can of corn and a can of beans and diced up fresh tomato for the juice.and because i AM hispanic, i added some hot sauce! This really is a keeper. quick and easy. Kids LOVED it. THANX!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this, however my kids, not so much. I think the baking time might be a bit to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I only had 1 lb ground beef. Used half the tomatoes/chilles and kept everything else the same. Baked in 8x8 pan instead of 13x9 and 15 mins instead of 20. Only... I forgot the layers of chips after I did my first layer, but it still turned out very yummy! We just added chips after it was done. Used corn chips. Would recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
loved it and so did the hubby and this is why i gave it a five! easy and quick, i used ground turkey and added a little taco sauce and queso to the mixture, superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and I really liked it. I used tortilla chips, not corn, and they turned mushy (it was all I had on hand). I took the advice of others and added a little extra water to prevent it from becoming too dry. Before I added the cheese I added some extra salsa to the meat layer. It was super easy and really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States