Taco Bake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Well, overall, the recipe sure has potential. I found a couple things wrong with it. There were WAY too many chips. And, the 20 minute cook time was a little too long. But, with a few tweaks, I think it could be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
HUGE hit with the family. I had it in my head to make this for supper when I realized I didn't have a taco seasoning packet, nor did I have a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I opted to use spices from my rack: cayenne pepper, seasoning salt, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano and italian seasoning. I followed other reviewers suggestions and used salsa instead of the canned tomatoes. Due to many reviews saying the dish comes out dry, I used 1 1/3 cup salsa and 2/3 cup water in addition to the 1 cup sour cream. I also added some diced black olives to the meat mixture before layering. A wonderfully yummy, mildy spicy enchilada tasting casserole. I have no doubt that if I had followed the recipe to a T (had I had the right ingredients) it would have turned out just as great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BZ Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creighton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was very good. My hubby and 4 kids ate it up. My 7 yr old stepson told me he has never ate anything this good before. And my very picky 8 yr old ate it up. I didn't have tomatoes with chilis in them so I just used a can of diced tomatoes. My hubby doesn't like chunks of tomatoes so I pureed it first. Other than that I followed the recipe and it turned out great! The chips do get soggy. But no one cared. They actually didn't like the chips that were still crunchy. We will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Very good, I recommend this to everyone. I would suggest not draining the diced tomatoes to add more moisture. I urge everyone mexican food lover to try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Delicious! I followed the recipe except used a can of diced tomatoes and a can of diced chilis instead of a combined can. Also substituted Mexican blend of cheeses. Chips lose their crispiness during cooking, so broke some fresh chips over top of dish when serving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Love it, might try it with tortilla's on the bottom next time and corn chips sprinkled on top with the cheese for added crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I made this recipe but i changed a few things to make it to our family's taste. First of all I added yellow corn chips on the bottom like the recipe call for. Then for the ground beef I added two med sized cans of green peppers. I did not put sour cream in with the ground beef. I layered as follows: chips, ground beef, (2 cans) black beans, (1 large jar)pace chuncky salsa and mexican blend cheese. I repeated all the layers one more time. My husband said that it was a killer dish and he means that in a good way so I am making this again with my additions. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
i love this recipe. I didn't make any changes, and i didn't find it dry at all. definitely will become a regular meal in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I tweaked this recipe a little by using ground turkey instead of the beef. I also used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup ricotta cheese vs. 1 cup sour cream and it turned out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Made this last night and we loved it ...tastes a lot like nachos. Its a keeper I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco Casserole

This cheesy, family favorite is the perfect weeknight casserole.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States