Tackee David's Split Pea with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
OMG! I was in a pinch because i usually buy dry peas that have a good recipe on the bag. Well funny thing...not this time, so i looked at all the recipes for pea soup with ham bones....and WAHOOO that Dave posted this....because this is sooo close to how i have made this off the packages over the years, i have to say this is the BEST recipe, because i love the thyme and marjoram and garlic... i like to add carrots and sometimes diced potatoes...just to vary it up...i also use ham boullion instead of salt (to taste) cuz that is awesome..... THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME .....WITH OR WHITHOUT THE MEAT... do try...(i like to cook mine longer, cuz i like a thicker soup...) but this could be vegetariain easy! Dave...excellent recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenney2kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This soup was a delicious alternative to my mom's more basic split pea soup. The herbs and garlic gave it great flavor. I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted oregano. I was also out of celery, so I added chopped carrots and a chopped baking potato instead. I'm sure it changed the flavor, but it was still quite good (and I'll try the celery another time). I also added some extra water, but I still ended up with a hearty, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I don't know what it was exactly, but we really didn't like this and we love pea soup. I actually threw it out. I can only guess it was the combination of spices. I did use a pork hock rather than a ham bone, so maybe that had an off taste. Don't know, but it wasn't good. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was our second time making this. We just love it. I add a finely chopped carrot, for a little color, when I add the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this with chicken broth and mistakenly put the celery in with the onion etc. but otherwise went with the exact recipe... excellent, rave reviews. Will do this again, it was terrific with sour dough bread on a rainy afternoon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I looked at every split pea soup recipe on this site. This one was not very highly rated, but appeared to be just what I was looking for. Absolutely delicious. I made the recipe exactly as written, except added some chopped carrots for color. My husband, who said he doesn't really care for pea soup, ate 3 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup. Peas don't need to be soaked so I skipped that step. It needed a bit more pepper for us & I did add carrots - but that is just personal taste. I would prefer to cook the ham bone separately and then skim the fat off the broth. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have never made split pea soup before...but love it! This was so.....good..I loved the spices and even added a little more garlic to it...used chicken broth instead of water and some carrots. Wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I like this recipe. The soup is hearty but for me needs a bit more flavor. I did forgo the pea boiling/soaking but did make sure to put them in a colander rinsing well and picking through like you would any dried bean etc. Used a very meaty ham bone and went heavy with the S&P to taste. Decided to swap the celery for chopped carrots. Good Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was fabulous....we just made it today...did not have marjoram or thyme so we just substituted italian seasoning. We also used chicken broth instead of water, no celery, used carrots instead....this will be a regular in our house...thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States