Tackee David's Split Pea with Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I have tried lots of pea soups and this is the best! I used yellow split peas (not green) and did not add salt - I think there is enough salt in ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This was really good. We added carrots and potatoes as suggested in the notes and some crumbled bacon when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made it last night. D E L I C I O U S !! Followed the first step but adding: some diced carrots for color, some diced potatoes and some cubed ham besides the meatty bone. Then, trowed in my slow cooker on slow for about 8 hours. Excellent!! Thanks David :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I made this with a leftover mesquite smoked ham bone with a lot of meat. It turned out fantastic. I did add carrots, fresh garlic and half of the liquid was homemade stock. It was really very good. My only issue was that some of the gristly bits came off the bone into the soup. That is kind of icky. One of the recipes I looked, at prior to choosing this one, suggested making a stock with the ham prior to cooking. That is my game plan next time. I think that should be easier to pick out the unwanted bits. Great recipe, thanks David!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was fabulous....we just made it today...did not have marjoram or thyme so we just substituted italian seasoning. We also used chicken broth instead of water, no celery, used carrots instead....this will be a regular in our house...thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I like this recipe. The soup is hearty but for me needs a bit more flavor. I did forgo the pea boiling/soaking but did make sure to put them in a colander rinsing well and picking through like you would any dried bean etc. Used a very meaty ham bone and went heavy with the S&P to taste. Decided to swap the celery for chopped carrots. Good Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I have never made split pea soup before...but love it! This was so.....good..I loved the spices and even added a little more garlic to it...used chicken broth instead of water and some carrots. Wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this soup. Peas don't need to be soaked so I skipped that step. It needed a bit more pepper for us & I did add carrots - but that is just personal taste. I would prefer to cook the ham bone separately and then skim the fat off the broth. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I looked at every split pea soup recipe on this site. This one was not very highly rated, but appeared to be just what I was looking for. Absolutely delicious. I made the recipe exactly as written, except added some chopped carrots for color. My husband, who said he doesn't really care for pea soup, ate 3 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made this with chicken broth and mistakenly put the celery in with the onion etc. but otherwise went with the exact recipe... excellent, rave reviews. Will do this again, it was terrific with sour dough bread on a rainy afternoon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States