Tabbouleh III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good, but did make a few adjustments. Used couscous instead of bulgur and added garbanzo beans and balsamic vinegar. Even tastier the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Thought this was very good, but definitely could have increased the amount of parsley and mint and decreased the amount of oil. I had already decreased the oil to 1/2 cup (as suggested by other reviewers) but found it to be too oily for my tastes still. I also decreased the amount of tomatoes and cucumber because there are several people in my house who don't really care for either, although I love them. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this! I was just looking for a healthy side dish to make for fathers day. I thought this would be bland but it was very flavorful, and the combination of flavors is perfect, it is not too lemony or too garlicky. I did reduce the olive oil to 1/2 cup and added a splash of red wine vinegar. Other than that I followed exactly. I was not sure how to squeeze out the bulgar so it came out a bit wet and there was a lot of liquid in the actual salad, but it didn't affect the taste. Next time I will make sure to drain the ingredients better and pat dry the chopped tomatoes and cucumbers so it doesn't come out so wet. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
healthy, easy and supertasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evitana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I didn't have bulgur so I tossed in day old brown rice. I eyeballed the quantities but decreased olive oil to 2 tbsp and salt to 1/2 tsp. I can admit that I have never tried tabouleh from a restaurant, but this stuff is SO good. Something very refreshing about the mint, cucumber, parsley....umm, pretty much all the ingredients put together! Perfect side dish for people on the Wild Rose cleanse. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This one is so good! Nice lemony flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I used this recipe as a base and was glad about the warnings about the oil. I actually used more veggies than the recipe called for and used 2/3's of the oil. More than plenty. Things I changed: Used Whole Wheat cous cous in place of bulgar and added later after the rest of the mixture had been marinating for an hour to soak up the extra juices. I added a higher ratio of lemon for a brighter taste...lemon also cuts the "hotness" of any type of onion or garlic. Used a small shallot instead of garlic & green onion and added 3 large kale leaves chopped really fine to give this salad some sustenance. My family loved it! If you want to use kale, chop this ingredient and the shallots/onion or garlic first and let sit in the lemon. Raw kale is a hearty leaf and takes some time to soften; otherwise it can be a bit chewy. Great accompaniment to replace both veg and starch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Definitely heavy on the bulger and olive oil for me. I was hoping for something a bit more green than grain. Thankfully I decided to add the olive oil sparingly, half actually. 2/3 cup just seemed way excessive. I added only 1/3 cup and it still seemed like too heavy a texture. In the future I will probably try a higher ratio of veggies to grain and cut down on olive oil even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce T.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I used this recipe as a good starting point. I used quinoa instead of bulgar wheat and I just threw the rest in by eyeing it. Turned out wonderful and so fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States