Tabbouleh III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Quick, easy, delicious, refreshing! It's now a staple in our lunches when my husband and I got for long kayak treks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very good! I couldn't find Bulgur, so I halfed the amount and used Couscous instead. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I cut the lemon in half, forgot the garlic, and used one long English cuke, double the green onion. I also added a big splash of red wine vinegar and feta cheese. I did soak the bulgur in 2 c of water, and after an hour all the water was absorbed and it was fine. Also, a large splash of olive oil was enough - 2/3 c. is way too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My beautiful grandmother from Syria taught me how to make this wonderful cooling and refreshing, healthy cracked wheat salad - a little differently from how it is often prepared and served here in the USA where it is made too dry, not chopped fine enough. She would fine chop the scallions, parsley, mint, tomato and cucumber - more than shown in the photo above - no garlic. She used lots of fresh fragrant spearmint leaves from her garden and very juicy ripe red tomatoes, dunking the tomatoes quickly into a pot of boiling water, then peeling the skins off before fine-chopping them and reserving all the juice from the tomatoes to use in the Tabbouleh along with lots of fresh squeezed lemon juice. She peeled and then scraped the seeds from the cucumbers before fine-chopping them. Then, she stirred everything together adding a little olive oil, a splash of red wine vinegar, salt and pepper to taste (just a little). She covered and chilled the Tabbouleh in the fridge and at that time, she separated and rinsed a head of Romaine Lettuce, gentling rolling the wet leaves up in kitchen linen towels (or paper towels)to dry. Then, she placed a bowel of chilled Tabbouleh in the center of a plate with enough room to put all the Romaine Leaves around the bowl (like a big flower)showing everyone how to spoon the Tabbouleh into a Romaine leaf and eat it like a taco. Tabbouleh is often served with Shishkebobs and homemade Stuffed Grape Leaves, Homemade Yogurt, and warm buttered Pita Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I enjoyed, some of the others not so much. I will try adding feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I am Lebanese and have grown up with Tabbouleh. I would modify this recipe as follows: Only 1/2 cup of bulgur wheat and rather than soak it, we rinse it until the water runs clear. Use 4 tomatoes, 1 cucumber, 1 green pepper, 1 bunch of green onions, 1 bunch of parsley, the mint (I only have dried mint), no garlic, only 1/2 cup of olive oil, juice from about 2-3 lemons, salt, pepper and allspice to taste. Let sit for a few hours so that the bulgur softens and the seasonings blend. We eat it on lettuce leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made it GF by subbing the bulgur wheat with quinoa. It made no difference in taste (from what I recall from my years of eating it w/ wheat). I like mine with plenty of parsley - tastes so fresh. I went without the garlic but did add the fresh mint - it you have it, you should add it as it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I use chopped red onions instead of green, reduce boiling water to equal the amount of bulger, reduce olive oil to 1/4 cup, and use more parsley (Italian variety). Turns out wonderfully each time and has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisKD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A very important fact is to make sure you only use the tips of the curly parsley and not the stems. I have been eating this since a child and my grandmother taught me to never use the stems. They make the salad bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I can't believe the reviews for this recipe. I realized most people are altering the recipe. My rating is for the recipe AS IS. The reason I gave it two stars is because I like the ingredient list, however, the lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and garlic portion I think is way off. Mine tasted like straight lemon juice and was extremely soggy. I had to drain the liquid and change the amounts of everything to make it some-what edible. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States