Tabbouleh III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was good, but I would decrease the amount of oil slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I love tabbouleh, but I prefer a higher proportion of grain to veggies than indicatd in this recipe. Also, I don't see the point of adding enough boiling water that you are required to squeeze out the excess. I use equal parts water to grain and it always turns out well. 1 1/2 cups bulgar to 1 1/2 cups water (plus a bit, if necessary) and up to 3/4 cups fresh, finely minced mint, seems to work for me. Also, I love chick peas, and often have chick peas - marinated in balsamic vinegar, olive oil and cumi - in my fridge. They make a great addition to this side dish. even if they may not be traditional. Only the chick peas, not the marinade, are sprinkled on the tabbouleh. And, if you don't mind me saying so, parsely is king, but don't make it overwhelming, as I find in some delicatessens. When buying bulgur consider looking for the rough cut variety - you will never go back! Such texture... Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Very good with pita chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This... is... awe-some!!! Thank you so much for this recipe! I went a little lighter on the lemon and oil, but other than that made it as is. What a healthy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was very good-very crunchy and refreshing. I felt like it was missing something that I couldn't really put my finger on. I think I must have eaten it with tzatziki sauce in the past. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty! I cut back on the olive oil to about 1/3 cup to save calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Hatch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
WONDERFUL. I am not a fan of parsley, so I put half the amount but added a hand full of bacon bits. My crew LOVED it! Thank you for sharing this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Delicious! I used couscous instead of bulgur, and did not use a full 1/2 cup fresh lemon juice. I also used 1 medium white onion. It had a very nice blend of the spice from the onion and lemon juice. I have only "sampled" it before dinner, and am having a hard time staying away until it is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very good, but did make a few adjustments. Used couscous instead of bulgur and added garbanzo beans and balsamic vinegar. Even tastier the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Thought this was very good, but definitely could have increased the amount of parsley and mint and decreased the amount of oil. I had already decreased the oil to 1/2 cup (as suggested by other reviewers) but found it to be too oily for my tastes still. I also decreased the amount of tomatoes and cucumber because there are several people in my house who don't really care for either, although I love them. Great basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States