Tabbouleh III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I am Lebanese and have grown up with Tabbouleh. I would modify this recipe as follows: Only 1/2 cup of bulgur wheat and rather than soak it, we rinse it until the water runs clear. Use 4 tomatoes, 1 cucumber, 1 green pepper, 1 bunch of green onions, 1 bunch of parsley, the mint (I only have dried mint), no garlic, only 1/2 cup of olive oil, juice from about 2-3 lemons, salt, pepper and allspice to taste. Let sit for a few hours so that the bulgur softens and the seasonings blend. We eat it on lettuce leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made it GF by subbing the bulgur wheat with quinoa. It made no difference in taste (from what I recall from my years of eating it w/ wheat). I like mine with plenty of parsley - tastes so fresh. I went without the garlic but did add the fresh mint - it you have it, you should add it as it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I use chopped red onions instead of green, reduce boiling water to equal the amount of bulger, reduce olive oil to 1/4 cup, and use more parsley (Italian variety). Turns out wonderfully each time and has become a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisKD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
A very important fact is to make sure you only use the tips of the curly parsley and not the stems. I have been eating this since a child and my grandmother taught me to never use the stems. They make the salad bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I can't believe the reviews for this recipe. I realized most people are altering the recipe. My rating is for the recipe AS IS. The reason I gave it two stars is because I like the ingredient list, however, the lemon juice, olive oil, salt, and garlic portion I think is way off. Mine tasted like straight lemon juice and was extremely soggy. I had to drain the liquid and change the amounts of everything to make it some-what edible. I will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Authentic and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Good recipe. Made it as directed first time and it was great. Left out garlic but added 4oz crumbled feta second time. Great to keep in the fridge to grab for a healthy bite any time. Family is loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This was excellent. On a whim I substituted pearl barley (real stuff, not quick cooking) for the bulgur and it was great. Also added 4 oz of feta. This was delish and I will make again. Even the kids ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I've tried to make tabbouleh a few times and this was by far the best recipe I've attempted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
sorry nothing to do with real lebanese tabbouleh parsley mint 7 leaves tomatos 2 tomatos borghoul 2 table spoon onion small salt to taste black pepper to taste olive oil one cup lemon one cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States