Tabbouleh II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Having had a Lebanese nanny and being married to a Lebanese/American I have learned what I hope can be helpful hints. Bulgar can be found in most healthfood stores,use the "fine" and soak overnight in cool water. Never use the stems on the parsley,to add flavor snip the leaves off with kitchen sheers (I do it while watching TV,use a food processor to grind the parsley. Same goes for the mint is using fresh mint,if using dried use a wire mesh strainer to finely grind the mint into the salad. This is a great recipe and is the true Lebanese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
living in Michigan , pre 911 , we had a ton of middle eastern resturants. Not the big corporate ones' but the small Mom and Pop operations where the food wasn't premade in bulk by a machine. Sadly those small resturants that used to be packed and hopping , dwindled and closed. This is very authentic. Just how I was shown to make it by my little old grandmother neighbor before she passed away. However she wouldn't make such a small amount ! ( I put a bit of minced garlic in mine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This is a great recipe: quick, simple but authentic....looking for REAL tabouleh...this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was an incredibly easy and delicious recipe. I couldn't find bulgur in either of my local grocery stores so I used couscous instead. I'm looking forward to it tomorrow for lunch in a pita pocket with some fresh from the garden veggies. I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
Very nice but try coriander leaves (Chinese parsley) instaed of standard parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grandma_beth
Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is really good! I forgot the onion. I didn't mean to but it was great without it. I have only one complaint... There wasn't enough to go around. I ate almost all of it myself before my husband got a chance to taste it. I really like the mint in it. But I think I'm going to have to grow some myself because fresh mint costs too much at the store. Next time, I'll double the recipe and remember the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma_beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
Very Yummy. Refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I want to comment on this recipe, because I have similar recipe and I make this salad very often. This recipe is good, but don`t use so much tomatoes. I use 3 tomatoes for 2 cups of parsley and 3/4 cups of mint. There can`t be much tomatoes in this salad (1/3 part of all salad). And I use lemon zest too, not only juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was really tasty! The only minor changes I made was using just 1 large tomato and I used green onions. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Tabouleh is perfect with any middle eastern dishes. I have noticed there are two kinds of Bulgur : coarse and fine , and I think the boiling water is supposed to be for the coarse one . I always use the fine Bulgur and I just soak it in water for less than 20 minutes . I use green onion instead of white onion, I cut the head and the steams. I also like to add black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States