Tabbouleh II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Good stuff...I use green onions for a milder flavour, but the basic cooking onions are okay in moderation. For an authentic Lebanese meal, be sure to serve this with Romaine lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I make tabbouleh like this all the time. I do substitute red and green onion in place of the spanish onion. I find it adds more colour and flavour. Usually I add the same amount of red onion and add about 3 green onions, since they are both more mild it won't overpower the salad. A bit or coriander added to the mix is good as well but it's got a strong flavour and you can overdo it easily. Overall a very nice salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Pretty good. I scaled the recipe down to 1 serving cause no one else in the family likes tabbouleh : ( but had to add more bulgar because there was a LOT of water left after 30 min. Only had green onions and added a couple cloves of garlic minced fine and sauted over low heat in the olive oil. Will probably use more mint next time, too. Still, I enjoyed it as a light lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This recipe, as is, seemed (surprisingly) bland to me. I was able to adjust the flavor to my liking by adding a bunch of garlic powder, a few healthy doses of kosher salt, a bit of cumin and some fresh ground black pepper. I added more onion after we ate some for dinner tonight and am letting it sit in the fridge, hoping it will get be more flavorful tomorrow. That being said, my fiance, who refers to veggies as "rabbit food," went back for seconds. Extra star just for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Yummy, easy, and refreshing! I also made this with quinoa (used 1/2 cup instead of 1/4) and added reduced fat feta. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Having had a Lebanese nanny and being married to a Lebanese/American I have learned what I hope can be helpful hints. Bulgar can be found in most healthfood stores,use the "fine" and soak overnight in cool water. Never use the stems on the parsley,to add flavor snip the leaves off with kitchen sheers (I do it while watching TV,use a food processor to grind the parsley. Same goes for the mint is using fresh mint,if using dried use a wire mesh strainer to finely grind the mint into the salad. This is a great recipe and is the true Lebanese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Excellent side dish for the Shish Tawook Marinated Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
living in Michigan , pre 911 , we had a ton of middle eastern resturants. Not the big corporate ones' but the small Mom and Pop operations where the food wasn't premade in bulk by a machine. Sadly those small resturants that used to be packed and hopping , dwindled and closed. This is very authentic. Just how I was shown to make it by my little old grandmother neighbor before she passed away. However she wouldn't make such a small amount ! ( I put a bit of minced garlic in mine.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLFOUCHEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I want to comment on this recipe, because I have similar recipe and I make this salad very often. This recipe is good, but don`t use so much tomatoes. I use 3 tomatoes for 2 cups of parsley and 3/4 cups of mint. There can`t be much tomatoes in this salad (1/3 part of all salad). And I use lemon zest too, not only juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I lovvvvve this salad! I always use more bulgur and hardly ever use mint when I make it tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grapefruit Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Tabbouleh

Quinoa stands in for bulgur in this healthy, deliciously different tabbouleh.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States