Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I have made this recipe twice and both times the shrimp was awesome and everyone raved about it. The second time I added a little Chili Garlic Sauce found in the Chinese section for some more heat, but this recipe is a total WOW! And so easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Delicious! I doubled the "sauce" amount because I wanted extra for the rice. I wasn't sure the sauce would taste as good as it did, but it all came together well in the pan. I steamed some vegetables, and it was a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Excellent recipe FOODGU1! Don't be scared away by the ketchup... this sauce is fantastic! And so quick -- it was ready before the broccoli side finished steaming in the microwave! Next time I'll double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Extremely tasty! Even my picky fiance ate it! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Yummy. I bet this sauce would work equally well with chicken or pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I don't know. Too much ketchup. It totally tasted like ketchup shrimp. I would make it again if I had shrimp lying around and nothing to do with them (like that ever happens, shrimp are mad expensive, yo), but I would cut the ketchup by like 1/3, cut the honey down too, and put more crushed red pep in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
I give this 4 and a half stars, but only because I didn't think up this recipe first! It tastes very much like what you would get at the restaurant. I made it twice, both were very good. I added one bag of stir fry veggies, the frozen kind, just prepare in the microwave and drain well before adding to the finished shrimp mixture. Could use fresh veggies as well, but I like the frozen. I also tried crushing 2 of the cloves of garlic and adding them to the sauce and using the remaining 2 cloves as recipe says, it gives the sauce a more garlic flavor.Also be careful not to overcook the shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I made this for my husband's bithday dinner. He was concerned that I would be in the kitchen and not able to spend time with the family. So we both wanted something quick and easy. This was both! I doubled the recipe. My husband and children love shrimp and they all really enjoyed this sauce. I avoided the shrimp and ate just sauce over rice - very good! I think I will try it with chicken sometime. You could not tell this had ketchup in it! I did not put in much red pepper, fearing it would be too hot for the children- still delicious. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was pretty good. It was simple and easy but it seemed like it was missing a little something. It was still good and worth making again though. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
I ended up making a very large serving of this dish so the taste may have been altered slightly. Yet I found the dish to be really tasty. There was quite a kick of spice that lingered after the initial bite. I added more garlic to the dish and I think it added a really good flavor. I also added onion, green pepper and mushrooms and lobster pieces. Very good. I would definately do again but make for a smaller group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,713) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States