Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
While I enjoy the "heat" of this recipe it is lacking in the subtle layers of flavor traditionally found in oriental food. I will try fresh ginger and maybe some rice wine next time. I also always use fresh uncooked shrimp to avoid the "rubber shrimp" problem when reheating cooked shrimp. Last thought, to lower sodium use low sodium soy sauce and maybe fresh diced tomatoes from my garden??? in place of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Love the sauce. There was no need to double it like other reviewers suggested. I prefer to taste the shrimp and not have it smothered with too much sauce - so for me .... the recipe as written worked fine. Served over jasmine rice. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I prepared this recipe with sticky rice. The szechuan sauce was OK. It was missing something though. Perhaps a little lime juice and more garlic. Also, I used ginger powder but will opt for the fresh stuff next time. Not a bad dish and it was quick and easy to make but, a store bought sauce could have easily achieved the same effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I really liked this! I made only a few adjustments but not major ones. I place of crushed pepper I used chili pepper, and instead of green onions I used green and red pepper. I also added broccoli and put it over rice. It was amazing! I do have to agree that raw shrimp would be better as pre-cooked DOES become a little rubbery. However, it was still great and turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ber_Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
10 stars! I added craisons for a sweet zing and served over plain jasmine rice. Highly recommend! Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellawray

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Probably as good as it gets for a healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mekaret27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe directs because I think that's important the first time you're trying a recipe you haven't tasted before. Otherwise your review isn't worth much, in my opinion. Having made it once, I thought it was pretty good but could be improved upon with the addition of water chestnuts and crunchy broccoli. I also used fresh shrimp and sauteed them in a chili oil and sesame oil combination. Really added a nice extra zip. Since we're not huge fans of ginger, I reduced it a titch, maybe half. I chose to serve it over rice noodles (we need to watch carbs) and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
It's delicious, quick and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that you need to double the recipe especially if you add veggies to the mix. I added a bit more honey and loads more chilli flakes and pre-cooked broccoli - served over brown rice. Also fresh ginger is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious!! I omitted the ginger and it was still yummy! Might go lighter on ketchup and heavier on soy next time. Plan to add more heat to it next time as well - add some cayenne and tabasco to give it a kick. :) We served the shrimp over white rice and it was a perfect meal. Very easy to make and full of flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillybean
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe was excellent and very easy. I used uncooked shrimp, as I find cooked shrimp does not have as much flavour. Based on other reviews I doubled the sauce, but I think I would go 1.5 ratio next time. Served over steamed Jasmine rice, with steamed broccoli on the side. Very healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillybean

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States