Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really yummy and very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Loved it! Great meal to throw together. Perfect blend of tangy, sweet, and spice, without any of those flavors overpowering. I used a 1lb of shrimp and doubled the recipe for the sauce since I was putting it over udon noodles and broccoli. Didn't have cornstarch so I used flour. Definitely adding this to my recipe bag-of-tricks since I usually have all the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
OMG, best shrimps ever! Solid reicpe, easy and quick, and out of the world tasty!! Here are some tips from a Chinese girl if you want even more authentic flavor: -Use 1.5-2 lbs raw shrimp(you can buy the peeled frozen shrimps with tail on)! This alone will kick this dish up a couple notches since the raw ones get more shrimp flavor in. -Use fresh ginger! -Triple the sauce, leave out the starch till the end (only use 1 TBS of corn starch, dilute in about 2 TBS water), I also added about 1 TBS of rice vinegar, the sauce was sooooooooooo yummy to eat with rice. Here is how I made it with the above changes. Heat up about 2-3 TBS of grapeseed oil(shrimps are very low cal, so don't feel bad for adding some oil here), cut up about at least 1 thumb size of fresh ginger(first cut into match sticks, then cut into tiny bits), cut up 1-2 small bunch of green onions(white and light green part only). Fry them up till fragrant, toss in the thawed and drained shrimps, fry for 1-2 minutes over high heat, then pour in the tripled sauce, boil for 1-2 minutes, add the starch solution, stir. Add salt. Done! Best ever shrimps hands down!!! gotta try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Loved it. Doubled the sauce and added red peppers, green peppers, and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Amazing dish... a full 5 stars! I did what another reviewer recommended and upped the amount of water for the sauce to 5 tablespoons of water. Added some chopped red peppers to the garlic and green onions and then tossed in the shrimp and sauce. Once the sauce was bubbly and hot, I added some blanched broccoli and topped the dish off with some fresh green onions for presentation. Yummm! This is definitely a staple to my weekly menu now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
It was a quick and easy recipe that tasted very good for what is was. I would make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
A little dry but tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Unlike most everyone else, we did not care for this. Too spicy even though I cut the red pepper in half. The heat overwhelmed everything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
very good! I cut back on the crushed red pepper flakes ONLY because I've not tolerated spicy food lately. Will keep this on the shrimp rotation. and people who put up there own recipe and give the existing recipe low ratings--here's a clue. I DO NOT care what your recipe calls for or that you do this because your 2 year old doesn't like 3/4 of the ingredients! you skew the rating by doing this. If you want people to know about YOUR recipe put it up on the site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Really easy and yummy! I served this over stir fried vegs (bok choy, broccoli, red peppers) rather than rice. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States