Szechwan Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Can't express enough my Disappointment! BLAND, BLAND, BLAND.. it is completely tasteless except for the heat from the pepper flakes. I've had szechuan shrimp before and this taste nothing like it.. it actually taste like nothing! I followed the recipes exactly so it's not me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelCake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I would recommend doubling the sauce and adding some vegetables like bean sprouts, baby corn, and water chestnuts! Absolutely exceptional recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
The flavor was great, just the right balance of sweet and spicy. So easy to make too! I'm always on the lookout for recipes that are quick enough to make after work on weeknights, and this definitely fits the bill! We felt there was too little sauce compared to the amount of shrimp though. We're probably going to double the sauce ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
My husband and I made this dish just this evening and it was just delicious! We used a whole pound of cooked shrimp as that's what we had on hand. Didn't have the crushed red pepper so we used a 1/4 teaspoon of Cayenne pepper instead. Kept everything else the same. We put it over instant brown rice and let me tell you - this tasted fabulous! It was so fast and easy to make. This will definitely be on our regular monthly menu. Thanks, FOODGU1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by songstress3
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was super quick, super easy and super tasty! I kept some of the mix separate before adding the pepper, as my kids don't like spicy. My boy who is usually a picky eater gobbled up his shrimps, despite never having had shrimp before. Next time I may try it with prawns, and may try with raw rather than pre-cooked as like another user mentioned, it is easy for pre-cooked to become a bit rubbery. Tip: Double the sauce ingredient measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I love this recipe, but I do adjust it a little. I double the sauce part of the recipe and add water chestnuts, bamboo shoots, and baby corn. Its just like they serve up the street at the local Chinese restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran Hastings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
very tasty - I would turn up the heat a bit tho - was a little shy about the red pepper flakes first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was really good, but next time I'd make extra sauce for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States