Szechwan Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Tasty, but a little on the salty side, even with using only 1/4C soy sauce and diluting with extra water. Really didn't taste any heat from the red pepper flakes, so would probably add more if we make again. Added some broccoli and ate with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent just a bit on the salty side. I would recommend less soy sauce or a low sodium sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe has the potential to be 5 stars, but I would make some changes. I took the advice of other reviewers and used low sodium soy sauce and even then it was a bit salty. I also used both green and red pepper. Next time I make this, I will use low sodium soy sauce and use less than what is recommended. The sauce turned out a bit gelatinous so the next time I will skip marinading the chicken. I will stir fry the chicken until done, add veggies, stir fry and remove from pan. I will then add the sauce to warm and thicken and then mix in chicken, veggies and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PetesBird
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
An easy and delicious recipe! I used lower sodium soy sauce based on other reviews. The chicken was so moist and flavorful. The gravy that the marinade made is fabulous - a perfect consistency! Both my 3 and 6 year olds ate it with rice and fresh steamed green beans! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PetesBird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe - but did use low sodium soy and honey instead of sugar. I cooked the chicken first, then added the veggies in after about 6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMJ
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Great recipe. Very easy to make and it was delicious over brown rice. I will definitely be making this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I should have read the reviews and comments before I made the mix. It really was way too salty. Will have to cut back on soy and substitute with light soy instead. Also, I didn't have the full amount of cornstarch noted in the recipe and it was still very gravy like. If you don't like the consistency and taste of gravy, I would half the cornstarch as well. I'll re-try this recipe w/ the necessary adjustments and see if I like it any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Since I can't figure out a way to revise the recipe description, I will post in the review section. For a lower sodium content, remove chicken from the marinade before cooking (and stir fry in a wok instead of a skillet) or use low sodium soy sauce. My family happens to like the extra sauce from the thickened marinade, but you could eliminate or reduce it. Using the lightly salted cashews (instead of the regular ones) will also help. To make only 1 lb. of chicken, 1/3 all of the spices, cornstarch, wine, and soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Good recipe! I only used 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce (used water to make the rest of the liquid), and I wouldn't use a drop more. Used half a red pepper and half a green pepper and it added a lot, not only in flavor, but in color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This turned out very good. I don't like my food too salty, so I cut the soy sauce in about half. I also used fresh garlic instead of the powder. I had some broccoli that needed to be used up, so I added that to the veggie mixture. I tasted it after the chicken was cooked, just before adding the veggies back, and it tasted like it needed a little sweetness, so I added a tablespoon of brown sugar. I served it over brown fried rice and it was delicious. I will make again with the changes I noted above. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States