Szechuan Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is a great starter recipe! I did use more soy sauce, garlic, cornstarch, and chicken broth. I used peanut oil & sesame oil to stirfry the beef with ground ginger sprinkled on the beef and veggies. It was fantastic, but I did add my own touch of seasonings as well. The kids demolished it, so it's a keeper!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sierra Youells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good recipe and easy too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I read through the reviews and noticed most people left negative ones, which is usually when I look for the next recipe. For some reason I tried this one anyway, following a little bit of the advice given. I added a little extra red peppers,soy, garlic powder rather than cloves (all out), added cayenne and some Chinese five spice powder. Stir fried the beef in sesame oil, then aaded one small onion and the broccoli and green bell pepper. Turned out amazing. Kind of mellow flavor when you first take a bite, but by the time you swallow you can taste the spice and the subtle heat. The veggies were delicious, and my kids asked that I add this to rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perris, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent recipe. My family enjoys this every time. I did omit the peanuts, crushed red pepper, and chestnuts. Delicious! One of the easiest recipes I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe and ended up with a terribly bland meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beezy Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was very easy and very enjoyable. Wouldn't change a thing except make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Outstanding! Just like what I get at the neighborhood Chinese restaurant. It was very delicious. I need to make a bigger batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grberk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used ground beef instead of sirloin steak. It was good, but a little flavorless. Maybe more soy sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Tried this one last night, and it was the first recipe that I didn't fall in love with the first time out. It really felt like it was missing something, although I have not yet decided what. And it wasn't as spicy as I expected it to be - although that may just be because I am a native New Mexican and used to spicy food. I am gonna rate this a 3-Star (just for now) until I can figure out what it needs to improve it. However, it wasn't a total bust because I think it has a great foundation to be something wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by true_blue_moon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
See notes. One hot chili added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States