Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Alright. Here's the deal. I've made challah a bunch on times, mostly using James Beard's recipe from "Beard on Bread"--a must read for the aspiring baker--and it never came out tasting this good. Virtually fail-proof... The dough turns out smooth, kneading was a pleasure. I used rapid rise yeast, yet Sy's estimated rising times still held (although I always recommend just eyeballing it instead of sticking to a rigid timetable). A little extra sugar for my tastes (probably about 1/3 cup instead of 1/4) made this bread sweet, but not a "sweet bread." I had it with my eggs this morning. I would advise you give the braided loaves all the time they need to really double in bulk. I thought my bread was ruined because right when I was ready to put it in the oven, some sensor inside the stove failed and it would not get hot. Luckily my aunt lives nearby and I drove the loaves over. So it probably rose an extra 25 minutes over what I anticipated, and there was no yeasty smell or taste to the finished product which has happened to me before with overrising. And I don't know what people did wrong to get a poor crumb. The texture of this bread is impeccable. And remember, challah is meant to be torn, not cut! BAKE IT. EAT IT. LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
OH MY GOD! This was by far the best Challah bread EVER! I nearly peed myself at wonderfully this bread turned out. SO GOOD! Try it, you won't be sorry! Hey SY! Do you have a bagel recipe?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
I always get raves with this bread. Since it takes so much time, I tend to make it for special occasions. One of my friends requests it any time we plan a dinner party. This is worth the extra time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
Thanks, Sy! This is delicious. My kids love it and our congregation looks forward to the beautiful loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
SUPERB challah, Sy...made one with poppy seeds the other with sesame seeds. Crust was perfect, inside soft, with a lovely texture...Thank you, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by jellicle
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This was my first time baking homemade bread. It was surprisingly easy, not nearly as intimidating as I'd feared it would be. I used my kitchenaid mixer and followed the well written directions and it came out much better than I expected. The loaves look beautiful and professional even though I had no clue what I was doing, and though they looked small after braiding and letting rise, they grew considerably while baking. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellicle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I made this in my bread machine and it was truly PERFECT. It makes a ton of dough, too. From 1 batch, I got 1 braided loaf, 3 LARGE dinner rolls (Shaped like bunnies, for easter dinner) and 9 big fat cinnamon rolls. I used the bread to make french toast for dinner and it was the best french toast I've had in my whole life. The cinnamon rolls with this bread were outstanding as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by juice
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I've made this bread a few times now, following the recipe for the most part, sometimes adding some honey, and it is delicious! Golden crust on the outside and moist on the inside. Always a treat for my guests! I will make this again and again. A beautiful and easy bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I was totally pre-occupied with an essay while making this recipe, so I managed to try to screw it up twice. It barely rose at all during the first hour, so I considered throwing it out and starting over, but decided to instead let it sit in a warm oven for an hour. This was not totally helpful, but I braided and baked it anyway. And then I forgot to put on a timer. I pulled it out at exactly 35 minutes just a little toastier than I would’ve liked, and it was still wonderful. Any recipe that still tastes good after failing to rise and nearly burning gets five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
Great bread...beautiful loaves...yummy taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States