Sy's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This turned out very good! Didn't make any changes other than the egg wash because I don't have a pastry brush...that's why my loaves aren't very pretty and shiny. Used it for french toast and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I'm sure this is a good recipe if the directions to mix the yeast is altered. I tried twice and neither time did the yeast foam up. Both times the liquid mixture was definitely warm enough, but I think the salt inhibits the yeast. The second time, I actually mixed in flour, but the dough didn't rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTYPOLLY4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I followed the instructions, and it produced the prettiest and tastiest loaves. Always wanted to make braided bread, but never knew how. My first time making bread myself, without the bread machine. THANK YOU Sy for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
A very easy recipe and quite tasty. It makes a beautiful bread. I would also recommend adding the salt a little later in the process--at the same time as, or right before you add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
My friend and I made this for the New Year. It was our first Challah experience. It did not rise well and turned out hard as a rock. I think this is because we did not mix the yeast/sugar/water separately in order to activate the yeast as I've done in other bread recipes. I also read that salt should be added with the dry ingredients so you don't end up killing the yeast. I am giving this 2stars until I make it again following the yeast directions from a different recipe. It was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very nice and tasty! A wonderful dough to work with. I also added 1/2 cup wheat germ and used butter instead of vegetable shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Having never made challah before I was looking for a well reviewed basic recipe. This was it! I did not need 24 servings so I reduced the recipe by about half. I used quick rise yeast and it still required more time than the recipe called for, but that could be me who knows. I also added 1/4 cup honey to make it sweet. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Like she said, not a very sweet challah recipe, but easy as anything! I liked the texture -- fluffy yet not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigsis144

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I substituted whole wheat flour and added extra water and oil to compensate for that. It came out delicious. The double rising is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNASAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Another wonderful Challah Bread recipe! The only change I made was adding honey to the mixture in lieu of the sugar. Fantastic and made the BEST French toast! Thanks Sy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

How to Make San Francisco-Style Bagels

See how to make homemade bagels, San Francisco-style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States