Syrup on the Bottom French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Made this recipe for a New Year's brunch. I cooked everything a head and froze it until I was ready to use it. I defrosted it in the fridge and let it come to room temp before re-heating. It was big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was a hit with everyone! Left out the pecans as I forgot to buy them, but it was still delicious! Some reviewers mentioned that it was too sweet - which is wasn't, but definitely sweet. Should have cooked it a while longer because it was pretty mushy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Perfect dish for Christmas brunch. Followed the recipe with some changes in amounts. When I began pouring the syrup into the baking dish, it just seemed like there was way too much, like the bread would be swimming in it. I only used about 2/3 of the syrup. I used sliced slightly stale french bread and the amount I had was way too much for a single layer, so I put two full layers of bread in the baking dish. I did add some cinnamon into the egg mixture. I followed others' advice and let the dish sit on the counter about 40" before baking it. The cooking time was spot on, the casserole wasn't soggy at all so next time I will cut back on the syrup quantity and use a double layer of bread again. Everyone just loved this dish and I will make it again and again! There was real maple syrup on the table, some used it, some didn't. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Turned out fantastic just as written, no changes to cooking time. I left it in the fridge for way more than 8 hours, probably close to 14. I couldn't get all the bread on one layer so I had to double layer it and it still turned out fine. Obviously you can be a beginner cook and this still turns our great. I added pecans to bottom of half the dish to try it out and next time will add to the whole dish. My family and I don't eat much sugar and found it a bit too sweet so we might cut back on the brown sugar too, but that's just our personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Way to mushy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This will be my 3rd year making this dish for our family's Christmas day brunch. It is simply delicious (no tweaking necessary)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Made it for a teenagers' cast after party. There were about 6 breakfast casseroles on the table and this dish was scraped clean way ahead of the others. It is now our Xmas morning breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I was not a fan of this dish. To me, it came out too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Everyone in the house loved this french toast casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great recipe. Made it for monthly staff meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. The only thing I changed was the bread. I used french bread instead of chullah. Good reheated in the oven the next day too. Next time I am putting sliced apples and pecans on the bottom before putting the bread on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States