Syrian-Style Lentil and Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AzzaJaba
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Hello, I'm the author of this recipe. You need to add about a teaspoon of cumin to the soup towards the end with the lemon juice. The cumin and lemon juice make all the difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added cilantro, garlic, corriander and a chicken bouillon cube,,amazing!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
merely OK, which is odd because I usually love Syrian food. Seemed like it was definitely missing something, even with the addition of cumin. Was a decent way to use up some old lentils I had laying around but won't be making this one again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a very good base recipe. You need to add what you like but mine came out great. I added carrots, corriander, cumin, garlic salt and tabasco. This is a perfect post workout meal packed with protein and low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I added two bay leaves to the boiling water and lentils, making sure to take them out before step 2 I added a cup of vegetable stock after adding the lemon juice and spinach. The cumin and parsley were a great addition and cracked pepper is a must in my diet!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aja

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I added more spinach and the recommended cumin. We really enjoyed it. Ours came out less like a soup than like a thick stew, though... and I added in additional water and skipped the step with the flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Our mother used to always make this soup for us. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Seemed like it was lacking something. I used some bone broth as part of the liquid; added some pepper and fresh parsley when it still seemed like it needed something more. I think I'll try adding some turkey or some spicy sausage when/if I make this again. At any rate, my baby seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Good basic recipe. Definately needs the 1 t. of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I added carrots and I think it needed more liquid so I used chicken broth and water, about 2 1/2 cups all told. Very good, hearty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States