Syrian-Style Lentil and Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Our mother used to always make this soup for us. Mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Seemed like it was lacking something. I used some bone broth as part of the liquid; added some pepper and fresh parsley when it still seemed like it needed something more. I think I'll try adding some turkey or some spicy sausage when/if I make this again. At any rate, my baby seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camp Pendleton, California, USA
Photo by AzzaJaba
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Hello, I'm the author of this recipe. You need to add about a teaspoon of cumin to the soup towards the end with the lemon juice. The cumin and lemon juice make all the difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
merely OK, which is odd because I usually love Syrian food. Seemed like it was definitely missing something, even with the addition of cumin. Was a decent way to use up some old lentils I had laying around but won't be making this one again any time soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I added carrots and I think it needed more liquid so I used chicken broth and water, about 2 1/2 cups all told. Very good, hearty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Good basic recipe. Definately needs the 1 t. of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I added more spinach and the recommended cumin. We really enjoyed it. Ours came out less like a soup than like a thick stew, though... and I added in additional water and skipped the step with the flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I added cilantro, garlic, corriander and a chicken bouillon cube,,amazing!! A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I added two bay leaves to the boiling water and lentils, making sure to take them out before step 2 I added a cup of vegetable stock after adding the lemon juice and spinach. The cumin and parsley were a great addition and cracked pepper is a must in my diet!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aja

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a very good base recipe. You need to add what you like but mine came out great. I added carrots, corriander, cumin, garlic salt and tabasco. This is a perfect post workout meal packed with protein and low in fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States