Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I have thrown out all other recipes for pita bread and put this one! This bread does not disappoint! I don't have a bread machine, so I just kneaded it until smooth, oiled it a little and let it rise about an hour an a half before finishing it following the recipe. My family loved it and the kids were so cute with their little noses pressed to the oven window watching it puff up like a balloon, they got a real kick out of that! Thanks for the great recipe! One tip I did was to put my oven on 500, the hotter, the better, and after it puffed up like a balloon, flipped it on the other side so it could brown a little for another half minute or so before removing it. Otherwise, the first piece didn't brown at all on top and I thought it looked prettier with some browning on both sides. If you leave it too long to brown, it will start to toast and get crunchy so be careful of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This is the best one for pita bread. I am an Arab and I tried to make the bread for a long time without success until this recipe. This is as good as the store bought one. The only thing is that home ovens just don't have the high and even heat needed to cook the bread quickly to golden brown without drying it. So I cook it until it is just begining to brown then take it out while it is still moist. When I want to eat one loaf, I use a toaster oven to heat it and brown it quickly. Also the toaster oven will repop it for the stuffing to go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ahmad Ghosheh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Wow! I made this recipe without knowing what syrian bread was. I was surprised when I took these out of the oven. This plain bread goes great with a soup or even pasta. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I love this bread! I orginally made it for a cultural presentations I was doing, but I like it so much that I am going to have to make it again! Oh and I found out adding extra sugar (what a wonderful accident lol) makes it taste even better to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I sometimes poke holes in the dough right before I bake it if I don't want it to be puffed up. And if I want it to be a softer bread, I will not cook it quite as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Bread was very tasty! My family loved it. It was very similar to my sister in law's, who happens to be Syrian. Only problem I had was with huge air bubbles. After I had made them, my SIL told me to pierce the top of the bread with a fork, all over, before baking them. I will do it next time, and I know they will be perfect then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Very GOOD!!! Crunchy and tasty, the whole kitchen smelled like a "BAKERY"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Great recipe!! Next time I make this, I will lessen the amount of salt added to 1/2 t. I thought 1 1/2 t salt was a little much. Also, I had to keep mine in the oven for longer tnan 5 min to give the bread color. And, instead of making 8 small circles, why not make one as large as the pizza stone I use and just cut pieces to serve to guests. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
I used to make syian bread the old fashioned way with my grandmother as a child. Now I can make it in less than half the time and I can keep the tradition going. I took some to my grandmother and she couldn't tell the difference. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I love this recipe!!! It was amazingly simple to make ddespite the fact that I do not have a bread maker and had to knead the dough by hand. Because I am an ameture bread baker I was also unsure of how long to let the dough rise and rest but I winged it and it came out perfect. Thank you so much for this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elegant Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States