Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
AMAZING! I thought the dough would be too heavy after it had processed, but it was not. It was perfect. I got the pocket effect with little effort. AMAZING! I am so happy for this recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soshi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
OMG! Sooooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Well, let me say...this recipe deserves 5 stars if I were rating it for pita bread. I was in search of true syrian bread, or at least what our area calls syrian bread. The dough was wonderful to work with and I will be using it again just not as "syrian bread." One last thing, I do not have a bread machine so I did it in my kitchenaid and by hand. Unless this may have caused the bread to turn out differently. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Not bad but keeps turning out a bit tough and chewy. Could be because I don't have a bread maker. Tried using less water but to no avail. It is still good though and does puff up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very easy, very nice. Several of mine puffed up like pita bread but the rest didn't. I'm not exactly sure why--maybe the thinness of the puffier ones had something to do with it? It's a very easy and simple bread, and I think it would work well with 1/2 ww flour as well. I may try that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
this is a great recipe! i've been adding mahlab (ground cherry pits) to the dough to give it an extra authentic flavor. you can find mahlab at international or arabic grocery stores. i also tried making the recipe using wheat flour. it doesn't come out quite as nice and fluffy, and the loaves didn't puff as they should. it was still good, but not as good as with white flour. if you use wheat flour, i would suggest using the full amount of salt. i decrease the salt to 1 t. when making it with white flour, but the wheat flour needs the whole 1.5t to make it taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Everyone else loves it so I must have just messed up. The dough came out of the bread machine too sticky and the loaves don't open well. I will have to try again tomorrow. Maybe I will use bread flour instead of all purpose and canola oil instead of olive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
It tasted ok but it was tricky to get them to puff up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AmyBear
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
It tasted alright, but it's tricky to get them to puff up and not burn. Second batch was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
i loved this bread.although it tasted like the flour tortillas made by the tortilla's flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States