Syrian Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect recipe as written, very authentic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I cooked at 550 was great. My thin pan cooked the bottoms more than I liked so I flipped with one minute to go. The air pans worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I make syrian/lebanese bread all the time but pat it into rounds the size of a tennis ball then I use a rolling pin making dough thin and edges thin. I use my hands and wrists (like tossing pizza dough) stretching and tossing to desired thinness, dusting it lightly with flour then "bake" it on an electric griddle til bubbles appear brown, turn and bake other side til lightly brown bubbles appear. This takes only a few seconds. I then stack them between two dishtowels until all dough is used up and let them cool before packaging into plastic bags. Much easier than the hot oven. We love the flat type of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williston, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I previously left a rave review about this but thought everyone would enjoy this little bit of "serendipity". We make these about every two weeks because we love them so much! I throw the ingredients into the bread machine and go to the gym. When I get home the dough is ready. Last time, by accident....I hit the WRONG button on the machine. I baked it!!!! LOL! It looked okay so I sliced it and used it for breakfast toast. It didn't have a lot of "flavor" but it made a nice white loaf of bread that was fine with some butter and apple butter and/or jam. I used the rest for bread crumbs by processing them in my food processor. So even though I made a mistake, this was STILL a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Easy & Yummy! I made this exactly as stated, using a bread machine. The loaves came out well. They weren't all exactly round, but I certainly didn't care. They tasted delicious! This was quite simple, even with the rolling of the pieces. I hope anyone who reads this recipe tries it once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Incredible! These turned out just like the ones at our favorite Middle-Eastern restaurants. I followed the recipe exactly, but did everything by hand since I don't have a bread machine. My husband and I LOVED these! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Now, I'll admit, I have no clue what Syrian bread is. I have never heard of it before, but it was one of the results that came up when I searched for "pita bread" so that's what I'm rating this as. I goofed and used 1tsp sugar and only 1/2 tsp stalt, but the results were still good. My bread machine is the LeftHandRightHand model, so I proofed the yeast in warm water with the sugar and added the flour, oil and salt in a little bit at a time. After the dough had pulled together, I kneaded it on a floured board for about 10 mins before putting it in a lightly oiled bowl, covering it, and letting it rise for about a hour (and WOW did it rise!). I followed the rest of the directions as written and was quite happy with the results. Only one of the 8 pieces did not puff up. Easy and fun to make. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was great! I needed to add more water + a bit more oil in order to make the dough pliable, as it was very dry prior to that addition. Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oumhurayra the frenchie
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
thanks a lot it's very easy and very gooooood!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by CheeryWazel
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These were yummy. The salt tasted wonderful against the rest of the ingredients, like the sugar. I had trouble finding a good baking time though. I cooked them a bit longer and they were kind of crispy. You could still cut most of them and find a pocket. One though was a thin crisp piece in the middle. I thought they looked better with brown heat marks on them, but if I would have left them the whiter color after the end of 5 minutes I think they would have been more soft like bread. But I couldn't tell if they were done so I baked them longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States