Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I'm a native of Syracuse and these are more than just a simple potato dish. They are part of our lives and bring with them all the memories of family, friends and good times in the summer. That's why we give the 5 stars. In CNY we know reds from whites from yellows, etc. and we know what a raw potato tastes like from an early age. We like the flavors of potatoes without ketchup or mayo or sour cream or whatever else people use to mask the potato flavor. This recipe accentuates pure potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
First time i tried salt potatoes was in Syracuse. I had them every summer when I lived there. Since I'm from Texas I introduced salsa to the mix and it's great. Just dip them in the salsa and it's a party. I've made salt potatoes every summer since even though I no longer live in Syracuse. Is Sue Lins still on the strip?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I grew up in Upstate NY, and was shocked to find out that no one on the West Coast knew what Salt Potatoes were! My mom & I used to always buy the bags of potatoes at the store that came with a packet of salt inside, so I used this recipe to get the salt measurement right. I usually get either baby gold potatoes or new red potatoes. As long as they as small, with thin skin, and never cut. My husband & in-laws are now hooked. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I make these every summer for my husband with Cornell Chicken. Growing up in the Finger Lake Region, he misses summer bbq's badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Absolutely perfect. I grew up near Binghamton, NY and this recipe is a dead ringer. Totally reminds me of being a kid at the Irish festival at Grippen Park in Endicott. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wm. Stewart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endicott, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
My husband is from upstate New York and introduced me to salt potatoes on one of our visits. I would only ever get them once a yr. when we traveled there. I would purchase several bags of salt potatoes to bring home, then I got smart and realized I could do them on my own with new potatoes and salt. I am in love with salt potatoes, and if done properly they are not extremely salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I grew up in central ny and have had this often. They are definitely different from regular boiled potatoes. Regular boiled potatoes get soggy and bland inside and mushy. Salt potatoes get a crispy skin and creamy inside. Let them sit after draining until they dry and get that thin salt film over the tops. The size should be small enough to eat the whole potato in one big full bite, and all around the same size. Don't bother with the recipe if they are medium sized because the point of salt potatoes is lost when you cut them to eat it. The way to enjoy them is to dip them in a little butter and eat the whole thing right off the fork. No cutting or mashing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I grew up with this recipe in upstate NY, with new potatoes that were in the ground just hours before. Make sure you do NOT peel or cut the potatoes; doing so will make the dish inedible. New potatoes are smaller than a chicken's egg; this recipe simply won't work with larger potatoes. And use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I'm upstate NY an I MISS these so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States