Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was introduced to these salt potatoes a couple of years ago while visiting friends in upstate New York. I learned they were a big deal to people there, and I was eager to try the bag/kit of salt potatoes she picked up. The concept, she explained, was that the potatoes were boiled in copious amounts of salt that somehow made them flavorful and special. They were good, I thought, but tasted just like regular ol' boiled potatoes to me. In fact, they needed...salt! When I came across this recipe, I just had to try them again myself at home. And once again I found them good, but tasting no different than regular ol' boiled potatoes - that needed...salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I have made these potatoes several times now, using baby reds... and they are WONDERFUL! I think it should be noted for people (such as Aspiring Chef Rita) that the recipe calls for WHOLE potatoes, washed only... do not cut the potatoes up and do not peel them otherwise they will absorb the salt and become too salty. When they are fork tender (about 15 minutes for me) drain them and let them sit to form the thin salt crust. I sometimes add chives to my melted butter, just for some color and added flavor even though I know it is not traditional. I have also boiled reds side by side, one pot with amount of salt this recipe calls for and one pot with just a little salt...and it's amazing how the salty brine makes the salt potatoes so creamy inside! Made correctly, they are NOT salty... just creamy and delicious! I served them alongside slow-roasted BBQ baby back pork ribs... mmmmmmmm... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
If only you could taste these with the Cornell barbecue chicken that one can find about any weekend of the summer around here(Ithaca, NY/Cornell area)you'd know what it's all about!! You want them nice and tender, with plenty of butter, but not falling apart. Also, make sure you are using small, young potatoes- not too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I've lived in the Syracuse area all my life...they are Always a summertime staple, the Best one's are the Hinderwadle's, some stores carry their "own" brand, but the Hinderwadle's are the "traditional" Salt Potato..for those who aren't too big on using the whole bag of salt when cooking the potatoes, try using a little more than half the bag. I always let the potatoes sit covered after draining for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
first, i want to say thank you for the recipe. I've never measured in terms of cups, it's always been a quarter pound of salt to every pound of potatoes. For all the people saying that these are regular boiled potatoes, they are too salty, not salty enough, etc.. the purpose of the salt is not so much to make the potatoes salty as it is to lower the boiling point of the water. With the different boiling point, it makes the flesh of the potato creamier than normal boiling and less starchy. As for the saltiness/needs salt problem, you may need to adjust the amount of water that you use. It doesn't specify in the recipe, but for this amount of salt and potatoes, you need 3 quarts of water. If you aren't using enough, you might as well eat the salt shaker and skip the potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I love salt potatoes. I used to live in Binghamton and would always get them at a local spiedie restaurant. I am not really a potato lover but made like this, they are so yummy. Make sure the potatoes are nice and small - so you can just pop them in your mouth in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I hate to spoil the 5 star rating but I have to. Straight away you know that the amount of salt and butter used in this recipe is not good for you but since I love potatoes I decided to go for it. No one ate more than a few bites!!! The salt was a killer. One person said that this was suicide on a plate. In any event - for all those salt lovers - go for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm from the midwest and had never heard of these. I thought I would give them a try (just because I'm like that!) and was actually quite impressed with the change in the potatoes. One would think that it really wouldn't be more than a salty potato...however, it's not salty. They are creamy and wonderful. I would offer one word of caution. I made the mistake of making them alongside a rather mundane pot roast that I expected to be more flavorful than it was. I would definitely recommend serving them with something with a much bolder flavor. I saw someone said something about them being served with BBQ chicken and I could definitely see that. I would just go with a bolder meat than pot roast with these...they deserve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The author forgot to add that salt potatoes are a summer cookout dish! In fact they are a staple at any clam bake, BBQ or cookout in CNY. I don't think I could eat them in the middle of winter. But they go great with hotdogs on the grill and some corn on the cob, or even with some steamed clams. I am a CNY native and always had salt potatoes growning up, I never knew they were regional until recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent. Do not peel the potatoes. The salt water adds a different flavor to the potatoes and they have a smoother consistency. When they come out of the water, they form a salt crust on the skins that is full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States