Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Excellent and quick recipe. I added some bacon to it, and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Had this for the first time last week at my boyfriends brothers house upstate. Didn't think I was going to be impressed but I was. Added some fresh chives, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
WONDERFUL!!!! I am from Syracuse, New York and have been eating these since I was a young girl. These are FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I'd never heard of these until we moved to the PA/NY border almost 15 years ago. However, they are a family favorite. We get these at every local festival and make them for every backyard barbecue. Make them exactly as described -- no need to dress them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I love salt potatoes. I used to live in Binghamton and would always get them at a local spiedie restaurant. I am not really a potato lover but made like this, they are so yummy. Make sure the potatoes are nice and small - so you can just pop them in your mouth in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I hate to spoil the 5 star rating but I have to. Straight away you know that the amount of salt and butter used in this recipe is not good for you but since I love potatoes I decided to go for it. No one ate more than a few bites!!! The salt was a killer. One person said that this was suicide on a plate. In any event - for all those salt lovers - go for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Just excellent! These are great with barbequed chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
A blast from the past. Such a delicious and simple side dish. You can throw in some fresh dill or parsley etc for looks, but these are so tasty they really don't need anything else. These are best served the same day...they lose some of their flavor as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I recently moved to Syracuse and kept seeing the salt potato bags at the store...picked up bag, tried this recipe (and learned some history) and the whole family LOVES them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
I've lived in the Syracuse area all my life...they are Always a summertime staple, the Best one's are the Hinderwadle's, some stores carry their "own" brand, but the Hinderwadle's are the "traditional" Salt Potato..for those who aren't too big on using the whole bag of salt when cooking the potatoes, try using a little more than half the bag. I always let the potatoes sit covered after draining for a bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States