Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These are a classic!! There's no way they'll be too salty if you do it right. The salt goes in the water, and most of it is poured off when the potatoes are drained. DO NOT add the salt directly to the potatoes, it goes in the cooking water. They're not going to be anything fancy, so adjust your expectations there. They're potatoes cooked in salt water, it's not going to be a gourmet dish. Just good, simple food that's immensely popular in this area!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were very tasty. The salt was not overpowering at all as some reviewers had mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These are yummy, not too salty. Much cheaper than buying the kit to make Salt Potatoes...they are just potatoes packed with a bag of salt! I reheated mine in the Crock Pot...which I wouldn't recommend. Great at a picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Perfect with or without the butter. Husband likes his buttery, I like them plain, and the salty flavor is excellent every time. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are really tasty! I only used 1/2 the butter, and just drizzled it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I am loving these potatoes! I used the larger red potatoes and cut them into 8ths before boiling. It cooked them a bit quicker. Wonderful quick potato dinner! Thanks so much! We will be eating these a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny with a G

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I have made these potatoes several times now, using baby reds... and they are WONDERFUL! I think it should be noted for people (such as Aspiring Chef Rita) that the recipe calls for WHOLE potatoes, washed only... do not cut the potatoes up and do not peel them otherwise they will absorb the salt and become too salty. When they are fork tender (about 15 minutes for me) drain them and let them sit to form the thin salt crust. I sometimes add chives to my melted butter, just for some color and added flavor even though I know it is not traditional. I have also boiled reds side by side, one pot with amount of salt this recipe calls for and one pot with just a little salt...and it's amazing how the salty brine makes the salt potatoes so creamy inside! Made correctly, they are NOT salty... just creamy and delicious! I served them alongside slow-roasted BBQ baby back pork ribs... mmmmmmmm... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Salt potatoes are just delicious!! I am always disappointed I can't find the bag/kit outside of Upstate NY. This recipe does a fine job, although I usually use Kosher/course salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Nice soft buttery potatoes. My son said, "Mom, why don't you make the potatoes like this all the time."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I was introduced to these salt potatoes a couple of years ago while visiting friends in upstate New York. I learned they were a big deal to people there, and I was eager to try the bag/kit of salt potatoes she picked up. The concept, she explained, was that the potatoes were boiled in copious amounts of salt that somehow made them flavorful and special. They were good, I thought, but tasted just like regular ol' boiled potatoes to me. In fact, they needed...salt! When I came across this recipe, I just had to try them again myself at home. And once again I found them good, but tasting no different than regular ol' boiled potatoes - that needed...salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States