Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
So completely and totally surprised by these. I've NEVER had potatoes this creamy!!! So glad I stumbled upon this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I grew up in Upstate NY and love my salt potatoes although I changed up how I made them over the years. I actually boil my potatoes in butter (salted) instead of water. I also add a little extra salt because I prefer my 'salt potatoes' to actually have a salty flavor. After moving to VA I discovered that although there are no baby potatoes to be found on a regular basis I can use fingerling potatoes and they're just as delicious. I also like to sprinkle a little parsley in the butter more for looks than anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Everhart
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I live in Florida and made these for a dear friend orignally from New York... He LOVED THEM... he said it brought back fond memories~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Everhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
first, i want to say thank you for the recipe. I've never measured in terms of cups, it's always been a quarter pound of salt to every pound of potatoes. For all the people saying that these are regular boiled potatoes, they are too salty, not salty enough, etc.. the purpose of the salt is not so much to make the potatoes salty as it is to lower the boiling point of the water. With the different boiling point, it makes the flesh of the potato creamier than normal boiling and less starchy. As for the saltiness/needs salt problem, you may need to adjust the amount of water that you use. It doesn't specify in the recipe, but for this amount of salt and potatoes, you need 3 quarts of water. If you aren't using enough, you might as well eat the salt shaker and skip the potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was such an easy - delicious recipe. I grew up in Syracuse and these were a summer staple. I wish I could've gotten them a little more salt-encrusted though. Wonder if there are any tips out there for that? I simmered the butter on the stove and made it nice and brown so it was a little caramelized- delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Being an Upstate New York native I have made these for years and its important to make sure to use very small potatoes, no larger than 2 inches in diameter. Also, only use a little more water than you need to cover the spuds. That way you won't dilute the yummy salty flavor, since that's what we're after here with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I am from upstate Ny and had no idea salt potatoes are a regional speciality. Thanks for the recipe. These are good for potlucks, clambakes, and cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Were ok, nothing special. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good potatoes. I had never heard of them, so tried them. Wonderful creamy texture and a light salt flavor. Definately let them dry so you get the light salt coating on the skin. A nice simple potatoe dish. I followed the recipe, used baby reds. Only addition was some fresh chives added to the butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fall River, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
these didn't come out as I expected.. I used twice the amount of the salt too.. maybe my potatoes were too big? either way they just tasted like regular potatoes although the skin was a bit salty.. will not be making again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States